Pomegranate Pancakes

This morning I woke up determined to get out on my bike.

IMG_0144

It’s been way too long since I took good ole’ RED out for a spin. In fact, the last time I rode  was with Kelly on our crazy 50 mile adventure!

My bike has been sitting on the patio so lonely. I spent part of yesterday afternoon fixing the tubes and reattaching the chain.

I rode a typical running route..

IMG_0146

It felt so good to get outside. The weather is in the mid-low seventies, and it feels amazing!

IMG_0143

It was a leisurely bike ride:

  • Distance: 10.0 miles
  • Time: 42:49
  • Average Speed: 14.0 miles/hour
  • Average HR: 146 bpm

Before I left, I ate a quick snack:

DSC_0040

When I returned, I made a REAL breakfast. I saw Caitlin make pomegranate pancakes, and I have been dying to try them!

We’re all out of eggs, so I decided to give the “flax egg” a try.

DSC_0031

For one egg:

  • 1 TBL Flax
  • 3 TBL Warm Water

Mix!! It was so easy, and I couldn’t even tell a difference in the taste of the pancakes (although I’m used to flax).

DSC_0032

I mixed the pomegranates into the batter, poured them onto the skillet…

DSC_0034

…and let them do their pancake thing.

DSC_0035

I enjoyed four pancakes out on the patio, with maple syrup on top. 😀

DSC_0038 

Chomp. The pomegranate arils added a nice crunch!

Off to work on school stuff again today! I’m working hard this weekend, so I can have fun in New Jersey next weekend!

Happy Sunday!

❤ MegaNerd

17 Responses

  1. apparently i need to move to FL because the weather in that pic makes me jealousssssssssssssssssssss

  2. Glad to know the egg sub worked out well! Looks like you have wonderful bike trails near you!!

  3. bike rides are awesome, glad you got out there today!!!!

    i had half a pom this morning, sooo yummy!!! baking them into something seems like a great idea!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Oh, what a fun bike ride! Those pancakes look yummy, too!

  5. Yummy pancakes 😀
    Bike ride sounds nice too. The track looked good!

  6. glad you had a nice bike ride with a yummy breaky!
    happy sunday 🙂
    jenna

  7. today is such a bike riding day! i need to get a bike-looks like a nice alternative to running!

  8. I’ve never heard of a “flax egg” before but what a fabulous idea! Definitely going to try that soon! 🙂

  9. So jealous of that amazing weather (and those pancakes!)

  10. Gosh those pancakes look good!!

  11. I need to try those!! They look delish, for sure.

    Enjoy the rest of your day!

  12. We use the flaxseed substitute for almost EVERYTHING! (except when my husband eats actual scrambled eggs) Isn’t it neat how well it works? 🙂

  13. That flax thing is a cool idea! Does it work in baking too??

  14. […] the movement. And she’s having an impact on vegan baking — I saw the flax egg pop up on MegaNerdRuns‘ blog earlier this […]

Leave a Reply

