U.S. National Whitewater Center: Part 2

The adventures at the whitewater center didn’t stop with whitewater rafting.

 

Did you miss part 1?

 

IMG_0358

 

Once we got back on dry land, we headed to the car to change clothes.

 

IMG_0362

 

Our day pass included the rental of mountain bikes, so we took advantage!

 

IMG_0379 IMG_0377

 

It felt really odd being on a mountain bike after riding my road bike so often. The tires were big and clunky, and I sat much more upright.

 

IMG_0388

 

There were beginner, intermediate, and advanced trails at the center. The guide warned us that their beginner trails were not easy, so we started there, on the green trail.

 

IMG_0403

 

The trail started out fairly tame.

 

IMG_0382

 

It quickly got much harder!

 

There were steep hills…

 

IMG_0407

 

…dips in the path…

 

IMG_0409

 

…thin paths (2-3 feet wide in some places!)…

 

IMG_0394

 

…and branches low enough to hit your head.

 

 IMG_0400

 

Thanks for demonstrating, Mark! 😀

 

We ended up riding 4.0 miles in 1 hour. It’s crazy to think that on road bikes we can ride 16-17 miles an hour. I literally could run faster than this!

 

IMG_0399

 

It was so tiring, but it was nice to enjoy the scenery. There were only a few other people on the trails, but it felt like we were exploring uncharted territory.

 

IMG_0401

 

Once we turned our bikes in, we headed to the rock climbing wall. By the time we got there, I was pretty tired, but managed to muster up the energy to climb.

 

IMG_0410

 

Mark was half way up the wall by the time I reached for the first peg. He was a natural!

 

 IMG_0415

 

Hehe.

 

IMG_0422

 

On the other hand, I was pretty slow at climbing. I started feeling a bit afraid of heights half way up and started panicking. Mark coached me up to the top, but once I got there I was afraid to let go.

 

IMG_0418

 

YIKES!

 

I haven’t been rock wall climbing before, even though I have had every opportunity to do so. We have a tower at the UCF gym, but I have never been to it in the five years I have been in college. I might have to check it out before I graduate!

 

We left the whitewater center around 4:30 pm, and we were absolutely wiped! I can’t believe that in one day we managed to do so much!

  • Kayaking
  • Whitewater Rafting
  • Mountain Biking
  • Rock Wall Climbing

 

image

 

It was kind of like a theme park with a waiver. 😉 Except it was much more fun, and there were no long lines!

 

We grabbed a quick smoothie on the way out. It was something with strawberry, banana, and peanut butter. It tasted like a PB&J and tasted amazing!

 

IMG_0430

 

From the center, we drove about 90 miles to my mom’s house in Winston-Salem, NC. I couldn’t wait to see my mom and tell her about our adventures.

 

IMG_0435

 

We chatted the night away over veggie pizza and beer.

 

IMG_0438 IMG_0431

 

It was the perfect way to end such a busy day. Mark had never done any of the activities before, and I had only kayaked a handful of times. We had no idea what to expect, but we had a blast!

 

What is your favorite adventure activity? I love snow skiing, but I also really like kayaking!

❤ MegaNerd

25 Responses

  1. What an ADVENTURE!

  2. so fun! I LOVE smoothie king. yummo!

  3. talk aboout an ACTIVE vacay! Sounds like a complete blast! I love rock climbing, but not a lot of options for it here in northern michigan 🙂

  4. That sounds like am amazing day! I really want to go there now! 🙂

    My Mom lives in Greensboro. 🙂 I love that area! I actually lived there for 6 years before moving to the beach.

  5. I loved reading about your trip to the US National Whitewater Center. We visited the facility in August and it was so cool! We didn’t do any of the activities (we weren’t really dressed for it), but my cousin goes there all the time so he wanted to show us the place. We just sat on the patio and watched the whitewater rafters wipe out.

    As we were leaving, my 85 year old grandmother revealed that she really wanted to try the zipline. I’m sad I didn’t get to witness that. Maybe next time!

  6. Wow, I’m tired just reading about your adventure. My sister lives in Charlotte, I’ll have to see if she’s been. It looks like lots of fun.

  7. How fun. I can’t wait until my kids are older so we can do fun adventure sports together.

  8. HOW COOL that we were both just there! I wish I had known you were in Charlotte – we could have had lunch. My school is right by that Rock Bottom restaurant!

  9. wow how many great adventures!!!! and the veggie pizza looks delicious!!! you and Mark look very good together!! 🙂

  10. I live an hour from the Whitewater Center. I need to go this summer! Looks like great fun!

  11. Wow that looks like my perfect holiday! I love mountain bike riding – it is amazing how tiring it is – even though you don’t travel that ‘far’ !!

  12. One of my faves was white water sledging – where they toss you in rapids with essentially a kickboard. It’s pretty awesome. Also, glacier hiking, sky diving, and bungee jumping 🙂

    Clearly i love adventure sports! That looks like an AWESOME day. I’ve only done a rock wall once – in college – and I kind of started panicking a bit too, which is weird since clearly I’m not afraid of heights normally with all the other sports I’ve done!

  13. How fun! I’ve never done ANY of those things before.

  14. That sounds like an awesome day!! I actually went to Wake Forest, in Winston-Salem. have fun!

  15. hiking is my favorite, and camping 🙂

    Looks like the adventure place was a blast!!

  16. I absolutely love mountain biking! My hubby got me into it about 2 years ago and I’m just now (brave enough) learning to ride the intermediate trails. It’s an awesome workout, and mentally challenging too!

  17. that sounds like a blast! 4 mph on the mountain bike is a bit slow, we tend to average around 12 mph in Raleigh. but the hills at umstead aren’t quite as steep.

    enjoy your time in NC!

    • heheh yeah clearly we weren’t going for speed. I think that includes the entire amount of time we were gone on the trail, like water breaks and picture taking 😀

  18. That sounds like SUCH a fun day! I would love to try out white water rafting like that!

  19. Looks like fun- your mom is gorg!

  20. OMG- that looks awesome! I just read Emily Frontburner’s report into her run at the centre and got crazy jealous, but now even more so. I love MTBing, and would really like to try WW rafting in a less threatening environment. Pity I live on the other side of the world 😉

  21. Sounds like so much fun! I don’t know how you stayed awake in the car after such an active day! 🙂

  22. so fun! I would say I love wakeboarding and snowboarding!

  23. your mom is gorgeous!

  24. Glad you had fun in NC.. I’ve lived here all my life and I’ve bounced around but never left the state. Grew up around Charlotte, went to college in Raleigh (NC STATE! Go Pack!) and now live and work in the Winston Salem area. I never knew about the Whitewater place in Charlotte, that sounds really cool!

Leave a Reply

