Veggies at Every Meal

Dinner last night was quick and easy!

 

I worked both jobs yesterday, so I was out from 8am to 8pm! I came home from work and whipped up the first thing that came to mind.

 

DSC_1334

 

I steamed broccoli, zucchini, and yellow squash in a bowl. I then topped it with half a cup of marinara sauce, and white beans. I added string cheese to the top and micro-waved it to melt it. YUM!

 

DSC_1336

 

Quick and easy is where it’s at! I even made extra to take to lunch later in the week.

 

This morning I was planning on going to the gym, but decided I needed the extra sleep. I am working tons of hours this week and have a bike ride planned with Mark and Kelly this afternoon. There’s always tomorrow morning! 😉

 

I thoroughly enjoyed my extra hour of sleep…and not having to pack breakfast. Packing multiple meals can be quite annoying.

 

After seeing Caitlin add sweet potatoes to her breakfast, I knew I had to try it! I was intrigued with the concept.

 

DSC_1337

 

I used her combo, but added honey instead of maple syrup because I didn’t have any.

 

 DSC_1339

 

This strange breakfast included:

  • 1/3 of a huge sweet potato, cold
  • pecans
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • plain chobani
  • flax
  • honey

 

Who knew veggies went with oatmeal?

 

It tasted fine, but the texture was strange to me. I haven’t ever eaten uncooked oatmeal, so I think that’s what was throwing me off. By the end of the bowl, I felt like I was choking down the oatmeal. I ended up picking out most of the potato and pecans and left behind some oatmeal. Whoops!

 

I’m off to work! I have Part 2 of my whitewater recap set to publish this afternoon, so be sure to check back!

 

❤ MegaNerd

7 Responses

  1. Your dinner sounds delicious!
    Everyone has been eating raw oatmeal around the blog world but strange textures freak me out so I’m not so sure I could handle it..

  2. I LOVE oatmeal raw! It is best in a smoothie 🙂 By the end of the smoothie, it has absorbed some of the liquid and gets a little chewy. LOVE!

  3. I’m not sure how I feel about sweet potatoes at breakfast although I do love them every other meal of the day…

  4. Yeah, I think I would have the same problem eating uncooked oats. I don’t blame you for picking everything out 🙂

  5. I love uncooked oatmeal so maybe I will give a try to this breakfast! I like sweet potato and veggies for breakfast too!! on this not, wanted to say hello to everybody here, I’ve been following food blogs for almost 2 yeArs and yesterday created mine, and today I’ve published my first post! so hello blog friends! and to you Megan, I really love your karma and energy!!! 🙂

  6. String cheese on top is such a great idea! I will have to remember that when I want some mozarella cheese and don’t have anything but string cheese 🙂

  7. After I saw her use dry oats in yogurt I tried it as well! I actually LOVED it. But its best to let the yogurt and oats and all sit a while before eating. Let it sit 15min or so….softens a bit. Or if useing greek yogurt, add a splash of almond milk (milk of choice)…helps as well. 🙂 But perhaps not for everyone. 🙂 Love your blog, just started reading it.

Leave a Reply

