Easy Black Bean Burritos

One of the things that I hate about working out after work is that I get done and I’m starving. Working out during dinner time makes for a very hungry girl!

 

It helps to think of what I want to eat either before or while I’m exercising so that I can immediately start making it when I return home.

 

Last night, I met Kelly for a 14.0 mile bike ride. We started a bit late, and ended up chatting some afterwards. I didn’t get back to my apartment until after 8:00 pm.

 

Luckily, I had a burrito in mind:

 

DSC_1353

 

I love Amy’s frozen burritos, but they are pricey! This was an inexpensive and tasty option. It was easier than I thought it would be to make my own burrito.

 

My mom made black beans while I was in NC and she sent me home with a couple of frozen bags worth. I took a whole wheat tortilla and added shredded cheese, mom’s black beans, and salsa. If I would have had some leftover rice, guacamole, or green peppers that would have been good as well.

DSC_1341

 

I folded up the sides…

 

DSC_1342

 

…and rolled it up…

 

DSC_1343

DSC_1346

 

Ta-da! Black bean burrito awesomeness:

 

DSC_1349

 

It was kind of small, so I had some extra beans on the side along with leftover steamed squash.

 

The whole thing took under 10 minutes from start to clean up. I am obsessed with quick meals. Pretty much everything I make these days is fast.

 

What are your favorite things to put in a burrito? I am open to pretty much everything, but I absolutely HATE sour cream.

 

❤ MegaNerd

23 Responses

  1. That looks delish- and so much better than moes:) yum!

  2. I hate sour cream too! My favorite thing to put in a burrito is salsa!

  3. I also made a burrito last night! I sauteed some onion, garlic, red, orange, and yellow peppers, zucchini, tomatoes, and corn while some brown rice in a bag boiled up. Then I rolled it all up in a whole wheat wrap with some avocado. Yum!

  4. i love burritos! when i make them at home i like to put all sorts of things in them – whatever i have. leftover veggies, spinach or kale, sweet potatos are sooo good in them with black beans, sometimes i will dice up a veggie burger and stick that in there, avocado or guac for sure if i have it… the only thing i really dislike in them is lettuce.

  5. Mmmmm…I LOVE burritos! But, like you, I’m not a sour cream fan. I much prefer cheese, guac, and salsa!

  6. Ok, I know this has sour cream (and I usually don’t eat it either!), but I promise it’s awesome. In a tortilla, put black beans, salsa, creamed spinach, and sour cream, then melt shredded cheese on top. I SWEAR it is unbelievably awesome. I usually do a pan of these enchilada-style in the oven to make them all melty and it’s one of my DH’s favorite meals.

  7. Quick is VERY good in my book! I like anything with avocado!

  8. I LOVE that all of the meals you share are quick and easy! It’s awesome to have time to make a more intricate meal, but when you don’t, it’s even better to have fast and easy ideas to turn to that are also healthy! That’s one of the best things about your blog! 🙂 Oh, and I really, really like to stick my burritos under the broiler for just a couple of minutes. It gets all crispy. mmmmmmmmmm

  9. Are you able to share your mom’s black bean recipe?!?! They look yummy!

  10. I like sauteeing bunch of veggies with some chicken, beans and corn, and adding cheese, that wrapping the whole thing and eating. yum. Now I want mexican food :))

  11. One of my favorite burrito places puts potato inside. I don’t know why I’ve never thought of this but it tastes great!

  12. My favorite thing to put in a burrito…Chipotle? 🙂
    Nah. Beans of any kind and CHEESE!

  13. i love sour cream in burritos and tacos-i would choose it over cheese and guac if i had to! i like how it gets all melty.

  14. I love to make a black bean & hummus burrito. I put in hummus, black beans, cheese (feta is my favorite), lettuce and hot sauce. Although it isn’t technically a burrito, it is a fabulous wrap!

  15. Yum! Black beans are my favorite. 🙂 I like everything but pico de gallo in burritos. I used to hate guacamole, but I’m opening up to the idea of it now…

  16. I love “black beans”!!! Great source of FIBER and super yummy in mexican foods and salads. =)

  17. I know this will sound weird but I absolutely can not eat any form of Mexican food (tacos, enchiladad, burritoes, etc…) without tomatoes. Not pico…but just plain tomatoes. Everytime I eat Mexican food and ask for an extra side of chopped tomatoes I get the oddest looks!

  18. Shredded chicken, then use the leftovers as a base for a spicy chicken soup. It takes about 15 minutes and the recipes are at Allrecipes.com . I also like rice and corn in burritos.

    I’m also interested in trying more “Dosa” which are like an Indian burrito wiith a spicy potato/onion base.

  19. I LOVE burritos. Avocado or guacamole, cheese, sour cream, black beans, rice, salsa . . . the works! The more stuff the better.

Leave a Reply

