Tweaking Things

Occasionally when I ride my bike for periods of time over an hour or so, the front of my left knee starts to hurt. NOT the same knee as the one I injured from running (that was the right.)

 

According to bicycling.com, the cause is under-extension of my leg in the pedal stroke. This means that my leg doesn’t get a change to stretch out because the saddle is too low.

 

DSC_0262

 

I raised my bike seat up about 1.5 inches (can you see the line where it used to be?) and it made all the difference in the world!

 

DSC_0264

 

On my bike ride yesterday with Kelly, I felt absolutely NO knee pain! Success! This sure would have been nice to know during the half metric century ride. Hmph.

 

I love figuring out simple fixes to big problems.

 

Speaking of which, I had a pounding headache this morning. I hit up Dunkin Donuts for a small iced coffee on the way to job #1 to fix that problem.

 

IMG_0596

 

Lunch was leftovers from the other night…

 

IMG_0599

 

…they didn’t reheat well. The sauce got all watery. Maybe I put it in the storage container too early and it melted the sauce?

 

I also had Trader Joe’s sweet potato chips and an apple. YUM!

 

Well, I’m off to job #2. Still no word on the engineering job interview I went on last week, keep your fingers crossed!!

 

❤ MegaNerd

18 Responses

  1. Yes, manfriend just raised my bike seat last week and my last few rides have been so much kinder to my knees. Love those easy tweaks that make all the difference in the world!

  2. I love how we both used the word “Tweak” in posts this week. Praying and hoping for your job!! Let us know. P.S. I miss you. Let’s hang out asap!

  3. hmmmm sometimes I get a sore knee from cycling at the gym, I will put my seat up one notch and see if it feels better . . . thanks for the tweaking tip!

  4. I am so glad you worked out a solution for your bike + knee pain 🙂

  5. How do you get TJ’s in Orlando?

  6. Aw…I hate it when leftovers don’t reheat well. I think the sauce gets watery because the vegetables release moisture. And also, if the stuff is warm and you cover it, it steams up the inside of the container and that makes the contents watery too.

    I know this unfortunately because I NEVER am patient enough to wait for leftovers to cool down before I put them away!

    Good luck with the job! You are awesome!

  7. Good luck with the job lady! We all see how hard you have been working. Sending good vibes your way 🙂

  8. Good luck! Sometimes these things just take some time!

  9. Haha, that’s awesome! Love it when there’s a fix I can do myself.

    I hope you hear back from that interview!

  10. I am SO glad you shared this tip because I’ve been having the same problem since last Friday but with both my knees . . . they even hurt when I’m not exercising, AND they hurt while I was swimming yesterday, which I thought was weird. Scary! Funny because I thought I had the seat up high enough –I do the bike at the gym so it’s easily adjustable. I’m going to try it tomorrow! Thanks!

  11. Wow, such an easy fix on the bike!! Who would a thunk??

    So glad you were able to ride pain free!
    BTW, DD iced coffee is my favorite…extra light, extra sweet ( liquid sugar) I know, soooo bad , but it’s my guilty pleasure!!!!

  12. I love how when something hurts you proactively look for the solution and don’t panic! 🙂

  13. I love when the simplest fix makes such a huge difference. I haven’t had Dunkin in forever and now I’m craving it!

  14. Wow– I don’t know why Google sent me to your blog, but it’s great to have found it. I’m also new to running (about a year of dedicated training). Your marathon story took me back to earlier this year, when I ran my first race, and spent the second half of the 26.2 miles in a very painful trot. In short, your blog has reminded me of how meaningful running can be. Please, please, please, do not stop writing! I am one of the many young runners you have resonated with. Best wishes in all your pursuits, and Thank You.

  15. I can’t raise my bike seat up anymore – that’s one of the problems with being so tall 😦

  16. iced coffees from dunkin = love.
    i really hope you hear from the engineering job you want!!

  17. Hey MegaNerd,

    I’m not sure what you’ve read on bicycling.com about saddle adjustmentns, but there are a ton on little adjustments that can make a huge difference, especially on longer rides. sheldonbrown.com is a great source for everthing bikes. (don’t let the poor website design fool you. there is a TON of usefull info there)

    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/saddles.html#adjustment

    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/saddles.html#angle

    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/saddles.html#frontback

    I can’t tell looking at the pictures if your seat post allows the saddle tilt to be adjusted, but if it doesn’t I would suggest getting one that does.

    Good Luck!

    Shoot me an e-mail if you have any questions.

    ryan@singletracksamurai.com

    Ryan

  18. there are many engineering jobs that are available both online and offline because there are great demands for it these days .~-

Leave a Reply

