Yucca Tots and the 5k that Wasn’t

I finally found a yucca root at my grocery store!

 

DSC_0265

 

Ok, that’s a lie. I actually went to a different Publix so that I could find this. I don’t know why my usual one doesn’t carry it!?

 

I have been wanting to make yucca fries ever since I started seeing them on the blog world. My yucca was small, so I had to make yucca tots.

 

DSC_0267

 

They were pretty easy to make, and tasted great!

 

Mark made some chicken with balsamic and onion, plus roasted broccoli to go along with it.

 

DSC_0266

 

I think roasting broccoli tastes much better than steaming it, but I’m usually too lazy to do it!

 

 

The 5k that Wasn’t

 

Four weeks ago, I announced that today I would be running Miles for Moffit 5k.

 

Well, that happened about two hours ago…and I just got out of bed. 😀

 

I decided not to participate in the race for a  number of reasons. Ever since I got home from a action-packed weekend in North Carolina, I have worked three full days at both jobs (8am-8pm) and another day (only until 4pm) followed by a bike ride. I have not been getting adequate sleep and I woke up on Friday feeling absolutely drained. I had trouble getting out of bed, and when I finally did I just felt achy all over.

 

I knew that I could not PR as I’m just coming back from a knee injury. I planned on racing just “for fun” but the thought of waking up, driving 1.5 hours away to race alone, and dropping $25 (plus gas)  didn’t really seem all that fun.

 

Sleep sounded MUCH better. I fell asleep on the couch last night at approximately 8:38 pm. The boyfriend and I had just turned on a movie and I crashed. I woke up 12 hours later feeling completely re-energized.

 

Clearly, my body needed sleep much more than it needed a race.

It kind of stinks that there really aren’t any more running races until August, but I’m okay with that. I have PLENTY of time to prepare for them, and it’s too hot in summer anyways.

 

Instead, I’m off to bike with Caitlin! Then, I’m heading to Tampa to see my family.

 

Have you ever bailed on a race?

 

❤ MegaNerd

15 Responses

  1. I bailed on a half marathon a couple years ago. For whatever reason, I Just totally slacked with the training and about a month and a half out, I decided I didn’t want to run it untrained.

  2. I haven’t fully bailed on a race, but in 2008 I registered for a half marathon and switched to the same event’s 5K two days before the race. I wimped out because I hadn’t adequately prepared. But I went back in 2009 and PRed the half! 🙂

  3. That doesn’t sound like bailing to me – it sounds like doing something essential! That is a crazy, crazy schedule. I hope things slow down for you soon!

  4. haha i would totally go to another grocery store for some yucca too!

  5. I had to back out of 2 races because of my stress fracture and it REALLY sucked. But I know that there will be many more opportunities for races in the future 🙂 And listening to your body is the best thing that you can possibly do! It will thank you for it.

  6. Sounds like a great decision to sleep! Racing when your body and mind aren’t into it totally take the fun out of a race. There will always be a 5k :). Hope you get the rest you need.

  7. That’s so interesting… I’ve never even heard of a yucca root. What does it taste like?

  8. I think that was a smart decision! Like Katie said, there will be more 5k’s!

  9. So you just totally jumped from the boy-that-is-a-friend to the boyfriend without any explanation, huh? Well thats ok, we all knew anyway.

    I’ve never bailed on a race yet, but I’m sure my day is coming. There have been a couple times that I wanted to bail and was convinced not to. Had you already registered?

  10. No explanation needed 🙂 Don;t stress at all re the race….you have been so busy. AND there are plenty of races to do in the future 🙂

  11. I’ve seen yucca at the store and eaten it out before, but never made it myself. Guess it’s just like any other root veggie, really!

  12. Good for your for listening to your body!

  13. Sounds like you needed the rest. Just do like you said and find another race and prepare for it 🙂

    I have bailed on a race – my FIRST race. I was supposed to do the America’s Finest City 5k in San Diego, CA this August, but my grad school plans changed, making the trip to Cali impossible. I hope to do another race soon, though.

Leave a Reply

