Don’t Forget to Breathe

I forgot how much I enjoyed swimming!

 

 

After work yesterday, I decided to hit the pool. Reading Ashley’s Half- Ironman recap motivated me to go for a swim.

 

I swam 1000m in a little under 30 minutes. I have REALLY been thinking about training for my first triathlon, but I don’t know if I can handle the training with all my other stuff going on.

 

I have been feeling extremely stressed out lately with all that I am juggling, including:

  • Working 30-35 hours at my main job
  • Working 10-12 hours at my second job
  • Taking 6 credit hours
  • Blogging
  • Thinking about life after college/Career searching
  • Boyfriend/Friends

 

It felt good to be in the water. The pool was quiet and I liked the feeling of peace around me.I feel like I barely have time to breathe these days. I know that it will pay off in the end. It has to, right?

 

Mark’s schedule is just as jam-packed as mine (minus job searching and blogging) so by the time Friday night rolled around we were drained.
We did muster up enough energy to make homemade pizza!

 

DSC_0250

 

We used Publix Bakery dough, added olive oil, marinara sauce, tomatoes, green peppers, mozzerella, and oregano! It was delicious!

 

Somehow brownies appeared in my oven (hmmm…MARK!!) and we shared a bowl of browines and vanilla ice cream. We were “ultimate fatties” last night.

 

DSC_0255

 

YUM!!

 

I’m off to work this afternoon, but I have a trail bike ride planned for this evening, if the weather permits!

 

How do you get through the most stressful times in your life? I keep telling myself to just keep swimming..but don’t forget to breathe!

 

❤ MegaNerd

22 Responses

  1. Oh my god! I can totally relate to what you’re going through! I work a full time job, go to school part time, blog, work out and try my darndest to stay connected to family, friends and the live-in boyfriend, not to mention mundane responsibilities like cleaning and laundry! I was SO overwhelmed this week that I seriously thought about dropping out of school.

    I’m over it. For this week! Ha ha ha

    These days I force myself to carve out some time to do NOTHING. I watch a movie, read a magazine or just take a walk. Even if it’s just for one hour. I think my sanity is the most important priority out of all of this so if it sacrifices an hour of study time or another day of a dirty bathroom, so be it. I can get so hard on myself for not being able to do ALL of that so I’m really trying to cut myself some slack!

  2. Megan, i do the same as Therese…i make it a daily priority to have a little ‘me time’. yesterday it was lying on the couch for 20 minutes before i unpacked all the groceries i had just brought home. and today i dragged myself to Body Pump even though i wasn’t really in the mood to go and i feel good for giving myself that time. and my life isn’t exactly a cakewalk right now so i sometimes have to make myself stop and breathe! good luck!

  3. I pretty much could have written this post a few years ago. I did make it through, but looking back on it I wonder if I couldn’t have made it through without killing myself. I am sure you have plenty of reasons to have such a full plate, but don’t stretch yourself too thin. There is absolutely nothing wrong with letting at least one of those things go. It is OK if you don’t want to keep up this pace. Only you can know if you’re doing too much, but I would urge you to evaluate whether or not everything you’re doing is really adding to your life in a positive way. For instance, does blogging still serve a positive purpose for you or do you feel obligated to do it? Once I begin to feel obligated to do something, I take it as a sign that it may not be the positive influence in my life that it once was. Two jobs is difficult to pull off no matter WHAT, even if you aren’t in school and blogging and having a life! It is not unreasonable for you to work just one job. Again, I don’t know the details of your situation and I hope I’m not coming across as negative or bossy. These are just things that I wish someone had relayed to me when I was in this situation. I really did need to be told that doing less was OK! I honestly wish that I would have taken things more slowly and enjoyed my college experience more. You have the rest of your life to work. I also wish someone would have pointed out to me that it is perfectly OK to have a slower pace and not kill myself working two jobs and going to school in addition to life and soul searching.

    Good luck and don’t forget to take care of YOU!!!!

  4. You should sign up for a tri!! do it, do it, dooo it!:)

  5. Hey…if being an ultimate fatty gets me brownies and ice cream…bring it on!

    Stress is going to creep up on ya no matter what, unfortunately. The thing – at least for me – is not to let it snowball. If you can tackle one little thing at a time and then counteract it with something very enjoyable or a “you time” reward, it seems to balance everything out.

  6. I hear you! I feel like I’m barely keeping my head above water. i just keep telling myself that I need to get through July and I’ll be okay.

    You’ll be okay too! Just keep swimming, and if you really really need to, cut back on some things. just try to enjoy yourself as much as you can, sometimes i forget i”m only 22 and I need to have a life as well.

  7. Isn’t swimming the best?! I agree it is SO peaceful, especially when no one else is in the pool. I’m right there with you on the stress: work, training, trying to develop my blog, friends, find a new job…ah! I can’t even imagine having a family too and trying to find time…I’m single and I don’t have any time! : ) I definitely rely on exercising to relieve my stress….and sometimes a beer, or two… : ) Keep up the swimming!

  8. I’m totally with you!!! Life is CRAZY and up and down and back and forth and I can hardly breathe at times! I wish I could help you but I’m going to be looking for tips in the comments.. I’m not so good at the stress management 🙂
    I’m starting physical therapy in the pool the week after next and I’m SO excited, I love swimming!
    Mmmm… brownies and ice cream is like one of my most favorite desserts of all time!

  9. I totally understand how you feel. Graduating college and finding a job is really stressful! You will find something great though!! You and Mark are really cute by the way, how did you guys meet?

  10. Ugh, I’m so sorry that you have all of that on your plate! I’m glad swimming was a nice outlet – swimming for an hour always works for me. Everything will work out in the end though, just don’t push yourself TOO hard – remember to take it easy every once in awhile!! 😀

  11. I always try to make time for myself, and making lists and crossing them off as I go helps too:)

  12. You’re such a trooper! Work it sister.

    That pizza looks incredible.

  13. When I was about your age I was nutso busy. It all settles out in the end, I promise! The first few years of work are hard, but it’s a different kind of hard to that work/study/life hard at the end of college! You will be glad you went through all this now- it’s definitely worth it 🙂

  14. Hello Megan, I don’t know what your situation is, do you NEED two jobs?I think having a job while studying is good, it helps you seeing things in perspective, I was a working student myself…only you know what your priorities are, family-wise, work-study wise and life-wise…life will be busy in the future, try and get some “you-life” now 😉 I kept an “unbalanced” style for long, work / studying / family without giving myself any vacation time, simple “life” time, and now I am at that point where I would run as far as possible from everything 😀 But you seem to be good at finding balance, so good luck and don’t push yourself too hard!

    • Yes, unfortunately. I support myself and have to work multiple jobs right now just to make ends meet.

      😦

      Won’t be like this forever hopefully!

      • oh well, then let’s say that when you’re done and you have an easier schedule, you will feel SO free 🙂 since you are used to all this pressure 😉 good luck 🙂

  15. From one n3rd to another, I think your blog is keen! 😉

    That pizza looks delish!

    Jenn

  16. Sometimes you have to figure out how to cut something out, even if it’s hard. I decided to take the summer off of school and I feel way less stressed. Maybe a triathlon isn’t the best idea right now? But only you know!

  17. Whenever I hit a really stressful time, I do what my mom told me – plan out your schedule for the day and make sure to pencil in something as simple as “relax”. Then you don’t feel guilty when you take an hour to catch up on your favorite show, read a non-school related book, etc. I also set realistic workout goals – trying to be as efficient as possible! Personally, if my schedule were as packed as yours, I wouldn’t add the training pressure of a triathalon. Working out should be a part of your de-stressing and enjoyment for the day, and if it becomes mandatory or stressful, I can’t see that being a good thing!! Maybe you can look up races to conquer once you graduate? Keep your head up – you’re amazing!

  18. the pizza + dessert look delish! but is it really necessary to call yourself an “ultimate fatty”? I really hope you mean that in jest because one brownie shared with your boyfriend doesn’t make you a fatty and I think that sends a weird message. I was trying to read it jokingly, but then I realized that it isn’t anything to joke about. living a healthy and balanced lifestyle means indulging and not depriving yourself (or at least for me). as a reader, I think you truly are trying to show a balanced and healthy lifestyle right? I don’t want to be a debbie downer here, but I don’t know if that is the right message to send to your readers and fellow bloggers (like myself).

    just food for thought!

  19. I think you just need to take a small break a look back at all of the accomplishments you have achieved. Face it, you and the majority of your readers have type A over-achiever personalities and will always be busy and stressed. When I was your age, my solution to every problem was to work harder. I think one of the keys in life is to learn how to take your stress, fears, OCDs, etc and use them to your advantage by putting yourself into situations to utilize them.

    Hang tough

Leave a Reply

