Five Minutes

I think it’s safe to say that my life plans change every five minutes or so.

 

One minute, I think I have things all figured out. Then five minutes later, a new opportunity presents itself, and another door is closed. My life is a bit all over the place right now as I’m currently throwing around the some ideas:

 

  • Should I stay in Orlando?
  • If so… I need roommates. Living alone is $$$$$$$$$$$$.
  • Should I go to graduate school? ($$$$)
  • If so, how can I afford it? ($$$$)
  • If not… can I find a job?
  • Where is this job going to be?
  • Should I move back to Tampa with my dad?
  • Should I move to NC with my mom?
  • Blah, blah… you get the idea.

 

Too bad everything revolves around $$$ or my choices would be much easier.

 

I’m trying to be as flexible as possible since everything is so un-planned right now. I have a back-up plan, but I’m waiting for my “plan A” to unfold. Does that make any sense?

 

I’ve been on a salad kick lately, I think it has something to do with my desire to stuff as many fruits and vegetables into my body as it will allow. I have been feeling a little down about this whole, “my-life-is-so-unstable” thing — maintaining my healthy habits provides some sort of normalcy.

 

My newest favorite: The Five minute salad.

 

 IMG_0669

 

I call it this because even if I change my mind every five minutes, there is something in this salad that will appeal to me at all times.

 

IMG_0670 

 

It includes:

  • spinach
  • romaine
  • leftover chicken
  • leftover Trader Joes’s Grain Blend
  • corn
  • snap peas
  • broccoli
  • red pepper
  • carrots

 

IMG_0667

 

No salad is complete without amazing dressing. That is why Trader Joe’s Tuscan Italian makes its way onto almost every salad. Unless I use the beloved poppy seed. Sorry Poppy, Tuscan Italian won this battle.

 

IMG_0668

 

There are so many ways to make a salad, and usually it always turns out well! I’m kind of feeling that way about life right now. I have so many choices, and they all seem so great!

 

Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one graduating “without a plan.” I know this cannot possibly be the case.

 

❤ MegaNerd

42 Responses

  1. I’m 28 and about to get married this fall and I still don’t have a plan! Day to day – things will unfold and your decisions will be easier to make. There’s beauty in uncertainty b/c ANYTHING is possible. And how cool is that? What if you had no options? I look forward to seeing where your life takes you! 🙂

  2. I think as long as you’re flexible you should be ok. If you get a job that is less than ideal and located in a different area you can work there for a short amount of time and re-apply to other jobs with experience.

    I think a lot of us are in the same boat. I just had a meeting with the county epidemiologist who basically told me there were no jobs in my field. It was really aggravating to listen to, especially because I will have a Master’s when I graduate.

    Good luck, Megan!

  3. I am a 29 year old married teacher in Orlando. If I could go back to when I graduated college (2005), I would tell myself to pack a bag, hop a plane, and backpack around Europe. Crazy…yes. Stupid…perhaps. Crazy…HELL YES!. Totally kick ass time…Absolutely!

    Trust me, life never goes a planned. There is always something that changes the course of your life. However, sometimes not having a plan….is a plan. Things happen when you least expect them and you can’t be the person that you will be without those unexpected, knock you to your knees changes that you will go through.

    3 months ago…..my husband turned my world upside-down. Soon, I will be a 29 year old DIVORCED teacher. Was this in my plan? Frack no! However, I try to remain positive and know that life is a crazy ride. To enjoy it you have to live it, take the good with the bad, and revel in the awesome moments. Because that is what really matters.

    I wish you luck in everything that you do! Keep kicking ass….don’t let it kick you! =)

  4. I don’t know your whole work situation or your schedule, but does your school have a work study program?

    Also, this may be way far-fetched, but have you thought about selling Avon/Mark-Kay/Arbonne? You have a very successful blog and can set up an online store and all your readers can purchase directly from you earning you commission. I’m not sure how much trouble or time consuming it would be..just a thought.

    You’ve got to do what really makes you happy otherwise you’ll end up in the situation 6 months from now.

  5. I’m going through the exact same thing! I just graduated from college in May – one month ago, almost exactly – and this whole “what am I going to do with my life” thing is just exhausting. I totally feel you on wanting to keep some sort of NORMALCY in your life; everything is so uncertain!

    I’m just trying to take everything one day at a time, apply for as many jobs as I possibly can and attempt to trust that the right thing is going to come along at the right time. It can be really, really frustrating… But people keep telling me to enjoy this time and figure out what I really want to do! So perhaps we should follow this advice 🙂 either way, it will all be okay… I hope…

  6. You’re definitely not alone! I graduated undergrad with a useless degree and had no real plans – only applied to one school for grad school and hoped for the best. Now, I’m about 6 months away from graduating grad school and have absolutely no idea what I’ll be doing or where I’ll be living (and that’s after tons of time and money and stress).

    At least you’re staying healthy! That’s a lot more than most people can say when their lives are topsy-turvy!

  7. I hope everything turns out ok in the end, preferably in the way you want the most.
    I wish you all the luck girl!

  8. Hi there. I lurk and love your blog! I say head up to NC to stay near you know who and you know who—blogger girls united!!

  9. Join the club my love! I just graduated (finally!) this year and I’m on the job search right now myself. It sucks, especially in this economy, and so I feel you. My head is spinning in all kinds of directions (that revolve around $$$) and I’m trying to land on solid ground too.

    My long-winded point is you’re completely normal and so not alone 🙂

  10. I have a slight expensive plan and will be graduating soon.
    Having no plan is normal. I have no idea what my degree is meant to give me at all other than the status of being a graduate.
    You are not alone, almost everyone is in the same boat.
    Also the best thing to ever say is ‘when I grow up I want to be…’.
    *HUGS*

  11. You are not alone… in fact more people probably feel the way you do as apposed to feeling stable haha. I have learned the hard way that you can have the most detailed planned out life in the world and well…. it doesn’t mean it will happen. You have one life, and I honestly believe being happy with what you have it a key to finding success in it. MONEY does help though and I could totally relate to how your feeling. 🙂 You will end up exactly where your supposed to.

  12. Move to New York!

    Every.single.one. of my plans changed when I was graduating college! I was suppoosseeedd to move to LA with my then boyfriend and become a history teacher. What am I doing now? I just leased my first apartment in New York, am happily dating, and working on Wall Street. And I couldn’t be happier. If you’re someone who loves change, I suggest wait until you get the urge to do something and do it! Like cassie said, you’ll end up exactly where you’re supposed to be – but why not get there with a few great stories 😉

  13. i hear you! i never expected to be unemployed and home from school on medical leave at 20… lol couldn’t have planned that one!

    i’ve learned that sometimes when things aren’t “according to plan” is when we give ourselves the freedom to pursue things that truly fulfill us anyways!

    who says you have to follow “the plan?” you do you, girl.
    -rebekah

  14. I graduated from grad school almost two years ago and haven’t figured out my plan….and that is okay! I’m sure everything will work out for the best 😀

  15. I doubt you are the only one who feels this way!
    I love all your options- moving to your dads in Tampa with the two lil ones would be fun I think!
    Jenna

  16. I went through all that stuff when I graduated college. I know it’s stressful and everything, but you’ll figure it all out. Have you looked on Craigslist or anything for a roommate? My cousin did that when she graduated and now she and the roommate are like best friends.

  17. Just try to be patient, wait on the Lord and He will reveal His perfect plan to you when the timing is right….

    I’m a control freak and it’s really hard for me to let go and just let things fall into place. I have to have a plan. I want to know what’s going to happen. I go through all the scenarios. BUT…it’s not plan that matters. It’s Gods. I have to remind myself that all the time!! It’s not easy, but trust me. In the end, you will discover that He was right all along and things will fall into place perfectly!!! 🙂

  18. I just finished student teaching in Ireland and was there for four months…I came home and graduated with my master’s degree and have yet to receive any phone calls for a job. I spent so much money going to school but while abroad I realized that if I’m out of a classroom for a year of my life it’s not a big deal…I’m only twenty two years old…trying to actually plan a future is laughable because things come your way that you can’t expect. I fell in love with the country and am returning in August on a one year working holiday visa and am taking the risk to find part time work to support myself there and will return to the US (maybe) next year hoping the recession is a bit better…if you told me that I would be doing this six months ago I would have laughed in your face…way too level headed for that…now is the time to take risks. Also, in Europe (or Ireland) higher education isn’t as big of a deal as it is here…people aren’t judged by the jobs they hold and you can work part time and live in a nice apartment without working six different jobs just to eat. Don’t freak out, you’ll be fine.

  19. You are totally not alone!!

    When I graduated from undergrad and went to grad school, I felt like I had it figured out since I was getting a masters. I just finished (hurray!!) and I’m still not sure what I want to do with my life.

    You’ll figure it out–in the mean time it’s your time to be selfish and do whatever it is YOU want to do.

    What about totally moving to a brand new city?? You might never have the chance to do that again!

  20. I gotcha, still feel without a plan. But I’m working toward one.

    One advice, don’t let money stop you. I’ve been in my “back up plan” for so many years that I now feel like I’ve really missed on Plan A, you know?

    There is no better time to make impulsive, reckless but amazing choices and adventures 🙂

  21. I vote NC 🙂 Have you looked into jobs in Research Triangle Park? I know there are a lot of engineering job opportunities there. It’s right outside of Raleigh (in the triangle – raleigh, chapel hill, durham). Fun area!

    Transition times are so incredibly difficult,stressful ..you name it! try to think of this more as a time where you have a ton of options open to you and you have this amazing opportunity to pick what will make you happiest and the most fulfilled! I’ve been where you are. It sucks. It’s gut wrenching. But ya know, it eventually works out. Plus you have gotten a great major that gives you tons of options. Things will work out for you!

  22. I don’t think anyone really has a plan when they graduate- I think it’s about waiting/looking for the right opportunity to come around, and doing whatever you can to make that happen in the mean time 😉

  23. You are not alone! My husband graduates in December but so much of our futures depend on where/when he gets a job. We would like to move but can’t do so without at least one of us having a job where we want to move. This makes looking for an apartment impossible since we have to have a back-up plan but can’t count on it. It requires preparation for every possible outcome since the final decision will probably be made hastily!

  24. I graduated with plans and they quickly blew up. It doesn’t matter, life goes on. I would focus your efforts on the job search and go anywhere you need to get it. Once you confirm your chosen profession is satisfying, i.e. this is what you want to do the rest of your life. You can work on getting to the geographically locations you desire.

  25. I think life during our 20’s is supposed to be a big decision. I’m kind of in the same situation as you. Should I look for a new job? Should I move? Go back to school? I’m afraid if I make a wrong decision the rest of my life will be effected, but thats really not the case. Just feels that way right now. Good luck with your decision!

    On your “stuffing all fruits and veggies into your body” note, I’m doing the same thing! I maybe ate 2 lbs of blueberries in less than 24 hours…. is that normal?

  26. All the ones being sure about what to do are “boring-squared” – or just pretending 😀 You’ll eventually figure out what’s the best choice for you, I’m 30 and still trying to figure it out 😉

  27. If it makes you feel any better…I’m about to graduate with my master’s and I still don’t have “a plan.”

  28. I could have written this post! I am trying to decide if I want to stick with a job I don’t like (but with a company I love) in a place I’m ambivalent about (but I have a fantastic boyfriend and friends) or just pick up and do something different. And my lease is up at the end of July so I kind of need to figure this all out soon…

  29. Things will work out. You are working hard, the right opportunity will present itself. and you are not the only person without a plan at graduation!!!

    I didn’t have a job after I graduated and i felt really anxious and horrible about it. I moved home, and the very next day I was offered a job.

    Try to enjoy this time!! You’ll look back in 5 years and wonder why you were so worried.

  30. Hang in there, Megan. When I graduated from college it took me two months to find a job, and the job I ended up finding was better than any of the others I had interviewed for. It was a nerve-wracking couple of months (I had to move home with my parents and didn’t move out until I had been working about four months) but it ended up working out OK. My brother is also a recent college grad in the same boat as you (my parents have since moved out of state and he doesn’t really have anywhere to go). Hang in there–it will work out some way.

  31. I definitely graduated with no plan, and I had a broadcasting degree! At least you have a useful degree!

    When I first graduated, I couldn’t find anything in media so I ended up temping. After 6 months or so of that, I made a big change and moved across the country. Now, I work for a production company (I’m not in my dream job, but I definitely feel like I’m on my way now! I know I have to put in my time first). My work is interesting, and I’m learning a lot, it just took a little bit to get here. Everything will work out!

  32. Don’t worry too much about it. I’ve been out of college 5yrs now and working full time in marketing. Still don’t know what I want to do with my life. But hey, i have insurance, an income and time to do the things I want in my free time like bike ride, try new recipes, train for marathons, etc. Good luck girl! I know it’s a stressful time.

    Also, are you and Mark still together? Haven’t seen or heard much about him lately. Best of luck!

  33. Aw, honey. Don’t stress out too much about not having a plan. I graduated with a solid plan to move to NYC with my best friend and two months before we were supposed to leave, she decided to get her own plan. This left me completely scrambling, but after a month or so of feeling sorry for myself the answers all became clear. I took a year off to work and save money, researched the heck out of graduate schools, and then went and got my Master’s degree. I can truly say that my “plan” being shot to hell was one of the best things that could have happened to me! I had so many adventures I wouldn’t have had if I stuck to the original plan (because I know now I would have hated NYC — L.A. ended up being much more my style).

    Good luck and don’t be too hard on yourself! I truly believe that something will speak to you and you will end up doing great!

  34. I hear you, I feel like my life is like that a lot of the time. Just take things one day at a time and everything has a funny way of falling into place 🙂

  35. I feel the exact same way! And it’s so unfair to be graduating in this economy 😦 But really, you’re FAR from alone – almost NONE of my friends have jobs! I know everything will work out though :0) For you, too!

  36. The most important thing to remember about grad school is you DON’T have to pay if you don’t want to and are willing to look outside of where you are.
    I chose to pay and I don’t regret it but so many schools offer Teaching Assistant positions, Grad positions, research grants, etc. With my degree (College Student Personnel) many people work as Residence Directors (the adults who live in the halls with the students and run the hall) and get paid for it as well as get their degree paid for.
    Look at what is available and can be tailored to your needs.
    Also, don’t settle – see what colleges are willing to offer you more money/better deals if you go there.
    Be picky because you’re going to want to enjoy the experience. I had a blast and am very happy in my current position post grad-school.
    Good luck!

  37. Lots of graduate programs offer full funding!!!! Especially in engineering and related fields….if you’re willing to go through a few more years of school, it’s a great option, especially in the current economy! I have a bunch of friends in engineering grad school programs, and they are all fully funded (benefits + living stipend) and funded with more $$ than I get as a school psych grad student. Good luck with everything!!

  38. Hi Megan,

    I know I am posting on the wrong blog post here, but I just wanted to ask you a question about your running. I have had a stress fracture and can start running in about 2 weeks again. The thing is, I understand the 10% rule and have seen you follow it….but what distance did you start out at? I want to run 2-3 times a week but I am unsure how long each run should be. I was thinking 2km (3.2miles) per run (which takes me about 10-15min depending on my speed). Is that distance times 3 too long in the beginning?

    Thanks,

    Nicole

  39. Hi Nicole, not Megan here but an ex injured runner 😉 5km is 3.2 miles. 2km is something more than 1 mile (1mile =1.6 Km) . I think starting out with a combination of running / walking would be better, but 2km I think is ok! I had pubalgia and I went back running with 1km run + 1 km walk and worked it up from there! But I guess a stress fracture is a different story 🙂 best luck

  40. don’t worry something will eventually happen and you will know what your supposed to do.

    I am in the same exact boat as you and it is driving me insane. I feel like my life is a roller coaster everyday and I have no idea where it is going to end.

    you will figure it all out!! I recommend moving where you are most comfortable.

  41. I’m graduating in December for grad school and I don’t have a plan! I feel your pain, girl. We’re not the only ones…it’s just hard to get peopel to admit to it 😉 we will figure it out. The economy needs to improve, too–I think that would help us and potential employers find jobs that fit us and so on.

  42. I’m late commenting, but I totally graduated last year without a plan! I ended up staying in my college town and supporting myself while waitressing while figuring things out/ trying not to grow up. Unfortunately, hanging out in a college town trying to act like I was still 19 was not as fun as I thought it would be. And waitressing sucks. A lot.

    Right after May graduation, I starting dating a great guy who lived in Atlanta (about 1 hr away from Athens, GA where UGA is). Then in December, I moved back in with my parents near Atlanta (this sucks almost as much as waitressing full time, but not quite) to save money/ be closer to my boy :). I finally think I decided on a good career path, so I’m about to apply to grad school. I’m glad I took time to think about it because I had no idea what I wanted to do at this time last year!

    Good luck! Everything will work out eventually…or at least that is what I keep telling myself!

Leave a Reply

