Starbucks Stability

Do you ever have those days where you feel like you are watching your life unfold, but not actually living in it? I feel like I’m watching a movie of my life in which I have absolutely no control over what will happen. Strange.

 

Anyways… I am completely out of dairy and fruit. This made breakfast a bit tricky. I took out two frozen waffles and covered them in peanut butter and honey.

 

 IMG_0698

 

I attempted to go on a run after I ate, but everything about that run just felt all wrong. It was so hot out, I didn’t sleep well, and I felt dehydrated. I ran 0.8 miles and then walked home. Defeated. Perhaps I will try again later.

 

My dad called me a few minutes later to let me know that he was two blocks from my apartment, and to meet him at Starbucks! He’s been doing a lot of work in Orlando, and he just happened to be close by!

 

I arrived at Starbucks with an iced nonfat caramel macchiato waiting for me. I was happy to see my dad, and my favorite coffee drink.

 

IMG_0700

 

Dad and I talked about my future plans (or lack thereof.) My life feels so unstable right now – I’m worried I might burst any second.

 

As my dad gave me his words of wisdom, and assured me that everything will be ok, I tore off a little chunk of our shared blueberry scone.

 

IMG_0699 

 

Starbucks is my stability.

 

I took the day off work to study for my very last engineering test. EVER. I have a major project and a presentation to do, but this is the last time I will ever be studying formulas for my undergraduate degree. Gulp.

 

Studying isn’t going all that well… I took a break for lunch. Amy’s Organic pesto pizza (plus one more slice) and broccoli.

 

IMG_0693

 

I need of even more caffeine… I busted out my last Peach Oo-la-long Honest Tea.

 

IMG_0694

 

Clearly I am craving carbs.

 

I’m off to study. It’s hard to focus when I have a million other things going on in my head. Wish me luck!

 

❤ MegaNerd

17 Responses

  1. Hang in there, girlie! That’s seriously true though, when life seems iffy, there’s always always Starbucks. Have a good day – chin up! =]

  2. Good luck Megan! Eventually things WILL come together. They will. But for now, I know the waiting, indecision and stress is eating at you. I don’t really have words of wisdom to offer. If it means anything to you, I’m really impressed with how well you’re doing. I’ve never had a “real career” and I envy young women with a strong mind and attitude, like yours. I regret being too passive and too willing to settle for second best. You’re doing yourself a favor by plugging along and working for what you really want. Believe me when I tell you that life moves at warped speed, so hold and tight, find someway to relieve stress (Starbucks!!) and just go with it. The kinks always get ironed out.
    Hang in there!! And good luck with your exam.

  3. Love the new layout!!!!! Very professional loooking 🙂

    Good luck on your last exam!

  4. Good luck Megan!

    P.s. I have a serious Macchiato addiction 😦

  5. Hang in there. It will all work out as it should!

  6. 1. I LOVE your new lay out
    2. Just keep plugging girlfriend, Everything will work out in the end, promise. sometimes it has a funny way of doing so, but it will, just have faith.
    3. Just dont lose sight of yourself through all this, you’re an amazing and strong individual, just keep breathing you’ll be okay 🙂

  7. Ambiguity is hard – especially when it’s ambiguity about really big stuff! But having little things – like Starbucks and a good talk with a friend or family – definitely make it a little easier! Hope you get lots of little things like that in the next few weeks!

  8. Hope your able to feel like your mind is a bit clearer soon:) it’s horrible having stuff swirling around but sometimes all it takes is a bit of me time! i’m now craving starbucks thanks to that delectable looking picture xx

  9. I saw your tweet about how long it took to find a job out of school, it took me about 5 months to find my current job, I had 2 in the interim, 1 temp job and 1 retail job that I hated. I’m sure you will find something you love. I remember how stressed out I was during that time. Good luck with your search!

  10. Girl, everything will work out in the end. I know, I know, people can tell you that until they are blue in the face and it doesn’t really make you feel any better. But trust that. And you are handling things really well!!

  11. i like the new layout! it will all work out- really and truly! think big picture- life is long and it will always be filled with uncertainty. a few years ago i got divorced and i was really floundering, wondering what the hell i was doing and where i was going. it was very unnerving and unsettling, but i had a great education, a great family, and i just kept reminding myself that the journey was all part of the fun, and for the most part- with a few freak outs and moments here and there- it really has been! good luck with you exams!

  12. Good luck! I was in the same position in December when I was almost finished with school and my boyfriend went through the same lost feeling this May when he graduated. I think everyone experiences the stress of moving on to another step in life, but it really will work out. I didn’t expect to be doing what I am doing now, but I’m happy and I’m not quite sure how I got here. It just happened.

  13. Don’t get discouraged or overwhelmed! You got this thing. It’ll probably all feel so much better after your presentation and test. Good luck!!

  14. Seriously, I know exactly exactly how you feel :/ Everything is so uncertain right now .. I kind of (a lot) wish I was going back to school .. and partly because I am a learning nerd! And you’re right, Starbucks makes everything better!

  15. Good luck 🙂 Study hard, relax and breathe – and I just know that it will all fall into place 🙂

  16. Good luck!!!! I’m sure you’ll do fine 🙂

  17. Aww, I’m sorry you’ve been having such a stressful time!! 😦
    Periods of uncertainty are the worst to go through, but all that moving and shaking of plans and ideas means that life’s gonna churn out something wonderful and unexpected! 🙂 I am sure things will turn out better than you could have anticipated.

Leave a Reply

