The Final Final.

Wow, talk about anticlimactic.

 

This afternoon I took my very last final exam. Ever. Unless I go to graduate school, in which case, that doesn’t count. I couldn’t ever really get focused to study today, even though I tried. Hmph.

 

I went to class, took the exam, handed it in, and walked out. That’s it? I’m done? No, not exactly. I still have a few weeks left, a project, a presentation, and a few speeches to make. Other than that, I’m study free! 

 

I came home and whipped up a quick dinner of Italian chicken sausage, peppers, and onions stir-fry.

IMG_0697

 

I ate a bunch of snacks while “studying”, and I wasn’t all that hungry. It was the perfect amount!

 

IMG_0698

 

I had to make it quick, because my pals Meghann and Caitlin were over!

 

 IMG_0703

 

Meghann had never seen my new (now 5 month old) apartment, and Caitlin leaves on Sunday for Charlotte. We decided getting together at my apartment would be a fun way to spend the evening.

 

IMG_0704

 

Meghann brought a summer ale beer (from Michigan, I believe?) for celebrating.

 

IMG_0700

 

Caitlin and Meghann have been out of college for a couple years now, so I asked them about their experiences/feelings approaching graduation. It was really interesting to hear their perspectives.

 

They assured me that everything would work out okay, I won’t always have to be so strict on my budget (aka… i can’t buy fruit some weeks), and that I will eventually find a job, and settle into my new life post-grad. That’s what friends are for, right?

 

 

I’m scared to death, but so excited for what my future holds. Sit back, buckle up, and hang on!

 

😀

 

❤ MegaNerd

33 Responses

  1. thanks for not posting my upskirt photo LOL

    i love you! it will all work out… if you move to charlotte.

    • BAHAHA it will only work out if i move to charlotte?!

      only if you have an extra bedroom. i can be your intern and work for $75 every other week!

  2. Congrats on your last ever exam! It must feel good right?

    Not buying fruits? Been there, done that 🙂 Life is a bitch and then you die? No way!

  3. Great attitude! Whatever happens for you in the next few weeks/months will be awesome and big CONGRATS on finishing your last final!! 🙂

  4. Congrats on being almost done! I just finished grad school in april and the first few months were scary but I feel like I am getting on track. The worst is how everyone always asks what my plans are… I dont know is almost always my response!

  5. p.s. I’ve had many fruitless times – especially berries! Berries or gas for my car??

  6. Your friends are right, things will evolve one way or another and you will be just fine! Sometimes it happens right away, sometimes it takes a while, and sometimes you move in stages… but even though it’s scary, just remember that it’s also terribly exciting! You will do great things!

  7. Congrats on your final final! I wasn’t going to go to grad school until my advisor informed me that it would probably be free (which it was!) Good luck!

  8. Sending you lots and lots of CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  9. Congratulations! You look SOO happy and relieved. Things will sort themselves out- this is the most exciting stage to be at- enjoy it!

  10. I think that there’s SO much pressure on Americans to find the IT path in life. Just live life..do the things that make you happy, enough money to be comfortable…and just enjoy. Don’t let the pressure cooker of America get to you 🙂

  11. For what it is worth I graduated from university almost 3 yrs ago. When it was all over I felt really strange, it was totally an anti-climax. I think I thought it would be this big celebration but instead I sort of felt flat and a bit ‘no man’s land’ ish as well as guilty because I didn’t think it was how I was supposed to feel.

    Now, several years down the line, I think it is because rather than it being a celebration, for me it was a new beginning. The beginning of ‘adult’ life and I wasn’t sure how that was going to look which scared me – I’m a control freak by nature! But I’m learning to ride the wave of life #cheesy which so far has been working out pretty well for me. Listen to that song ‘Everybody’s free (to wear sunscreen)’ by Baz Luhrmann, it is really great at giving me perspective and reasurance.

    Amy x

    ps Sorry for the essay, eeek!

  12. This is going to be such an exciting time in your life! Good luck with it and try to enjoy it!

  13. Hooray, you’re almost done!!!!

  14. I graduated from college in 2004. The first probably 6 months out of college were REALLY hard for me. I’m in Michigan, the economy here is worse than almost anywhere else, and I couldn’t find a job. I found one not related to my degree (that paid really poorly) after 8 months. Started grad school shortly after that. Worked full-time at poor paying jobs while going to grad school. Then once I graduated, took temp jobs in the field I was interested in in order to get that “experience” everyone looks for. Now, I’m in a great position that is exactly what I wanted. It took a while, but things always work out I think. You just have to hang in there & get ‘er done. The best advise I can give is find any way to get experience doing what you want to do. Intern, volunteer, work part time, whatever it takes.

  15. Hang in there…it will all work out! Seriously…after college and in-between real adulthood you learn a lot about yourself! 🙂

  16. Congrats on being (almost) done! It will definitely all work out and when you look back on this time in a few years you’ll miss it. It’s exciting to just be starting out.

  17. Graduation is the best! Congrats! Hold on tight…the first few years out are exciting and a huge change!

  18. Congrats on being done!!! How exciting!!!

  19. apparently we’re meal twins! 🙂 yours looks fantastic. did yours make your whole apt. smell? ours still smells like peppers & onions today!

  20. good luck with everything! looks like yall had fun!

  21. Mmmm Oberon, quite possibly one of the best wheat beers out there. I’d go so far as to say that nearly everything that Bell’s puts out is super high quality.

    Girly, you’re going to be awesome. Think about it, you’re a hard worker, you’re focused, you enjoy challenges and you’re super adorable! I mean, how could that combination possibly fail?! Don’t stress out, you rock.

  22. Haha oh i have felt the same way, but really, it’ll all get sorted out on it own. Life is funny like that. I just finished grad school in Dec. and I constantly have the same freakouts you’re talking about. YOu’re not alone! 🙂

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  23. I have learned that God always provides and to just live each day one at a time. Enjoy all the exciting things your future holds!

  24. Oh, I did the temp job thing, and moving back in with my parents, and all that sort of fun stuff right after college…but it gets better! I promise! Good luck with everything!

  25. You are so motivated and determined – you will do amazingly! And even if you don’t find your dream job right away, that’s OK. Seriously. You’ll figure it out as you go and learn and do!

  26. Congrats! It’s nice to have friends to vent to and get advice from. It sounds like you have been working really hard at forming your future. Keep at it – hard work pays off!

  27. Aaaahhhhh!! Congrats 🙂 that’s so exciting!

  28. I remember feeling the same way after my last final. I broke down around 5 that night after realizing that the entire college experience was over. I’ve been out for over a year now and it has been a whirlwind. I love the freedom of working, I can buy good food, new clothes, and at the end of the day work is over. But at the same time I missed the learning and stimulation of school. You are going to be fine. It was by far the hardest year for me. But you grow up a lot, start to figure life out and who you are. You’re going to be great and tackle every challenge!

  29. Oberon is indeed from Michigan! Brewed in Galesburg, to be exact. March 30th, the day it is first release for the season, is practically a holiday around the state.

Leave a Reply

