Sunday Morning Brick

I took advantage of a morning without work to get in a good workout. Countdown to the sprint triathlon in 6 days!

 

I decided to get in a good brick workout before the triathlon, even though I probably should have done more than one before the actual race.

 

My favorite bike buddy, Mark, met me for the first half of my workout.

 

 IMG_0763

 

I can’t remember the last time that we rode together, but I forgot how much I missed it!

 

We rode the airport loop, 14.0 miles, in about 56 minutes. We could have gone much faster had we not been riding side-by-side chatting the entire time. Next weekend, I have to ride 12.4 miles, followed by a 2.6 mile run.

 

IMG_0766

 

As soon as we finished our ride, I ran upstairs, changed my shoes, and ran out the door. I completed a 2.0 mile run at a 9:42 min/mile pace. I was pretty exhausted from the heat once I came back in, and collapsed on the floor. Stretching was necessary.

 

IMG_0768

 

I also wanted to do a trial run with my race day outfit. I bought a pair of Pearl Izumi Tri shorts a couple of months ago, and decided there was no better time than now to tri try them out!

 

IMG_0773

 

The shorts were a success! They were padded enough for a shorter ride, yet not too bulky to make it feel like I was running in a diaper. YUCK!

 

Once I had cooled off a bit and showered, I made myself a delicious, refreshing fruit smoothie.

 

IMG_0775

 

I’m pretty confident between today’s brick, and yesterday’s open water swim that I will be able to complete my sprint triathlon. I need to make sure that I pace myself and not try to push it too hard in the beginning. I’m getting excited!

 

❤ MegaNerd

15 Responses

  1. You are going to do great!! Don’t forget a few transition practices!

  2. Good for you for braving the heat!! I can’t wait to have a bike someday 🙂

  3. Great job with the bike ride and run! It’s pretty inspiring. Your smoothie looks so refreshing.

  4. Congrats on a great brick workout! Cant wait to read all about your race adventures 🙂

  5. Ooooh I was wondering what happened to Mark! 🙂

  6. Yay for good brick workouts!! I have been contemplating buying those tri shorts also or just sucking it up and using my regular running spandex shorts for my sprint tri.

  7. Your training is going great! You will have no problem :). I dont ride outside very often,but I’ve heard bike shorts are so worth it.

  8. great job! I am sure you will do great in the race!

  9. Good luck!!!!! 🙂

  10. I’m excited for you! 🙂

  11. I’m glad to see Mark back in the post. I hadn’t seen him in a while, but I didn’t want to be overly nosey. 🙂

  12. Yeah, I love my Pearl Izumi tri shorts…agree that the chamois is thin, but not too thin and you can run in the shorts, which is great! Nice work on the workout!

  13. Saw your tweet about maybe getting a dog after you graduate. We love our shelter pup, but he does limit our mobility A LOT. Think either dumpy dog-friendly apartments or expensive non-refundable pet deposits (We pay an extra $125 a month for our shepherd mix). My (unsolicited, I realize) advice? If you’re thinking about moving and don’t have a solid, safe & dog-friendly place lined up, I’d say wait until you’re more stable.

  14. Ack you look so cute!!!

    Glad you had an awesome work out. Nothing like that to boost confidence.

  15. Great job! I’m excited to hear about your race – I’m sure you’ll kill it!

Leave a Reply

