Surviving the Swim

Countdown to the Triathlon: 22 hours!

 

Nothing like starting a 10 hour work day with my favorite breakfast. 🙂

 

DSC_0412

 

Along with some pretty flowers…

 

DSC_0411

 

That open water swim really has me freaked out.

 

The sprint triathlon is tomorrow, and I’m losing sleep over this stupid swim. I wasn’t even that worried about it until this past weekend, and now it’s all I can think about. I only have to swim 75% of the distance as last weekend, and it should be easier knowing that I will be out of the water that much faster!

 

I headed to the pool for my last swim before the tri. It was actually one of the hardest swims ever for me. I kept feeling like I was going to drown. I had this picture in my mind of just how far I was actually swimming. I managed to swim for only 20 minutes before I had to get out. I need to figure out a way to calm down about tomorrow or it’s going to be ROUGH!

 

 

I’ve been swimming since I was about three years old. What makes this so scary?!

 

Megan the Mermaid, back in 1991:

 

 image

 

When I first mentioned that I added swimming to my fitness routine, my grandma e-mailed me:

 

Megan,

You used to be like a little frog in the water — way back in the "olden days" when you and I were young(er). I can remember that year  you were just over 4 years old when your mom and dad went away on a cruise and I stayed with you and your sister.  You had learned to swim the summer before, but that year your mom said you didn’t want to get your face wet, and refused to get into the pool.


I love a challenge!  So I decided that I’d go swimming every afternoon just after putting Brielle down for her nap.  Naturally, you wanted to get in on the fun, and it wasn’t long before I had you jumping into the water where I’d catch you.  Gradually, I moved away from the side of the pool with each jump, and before long you’d jump, sinking under the water briefly, surface and catch my hands.  Pretty soon you were splashing around the pool on your own as though you were born to it.  By the time your folks got home at the end of the week, you were a regular water baby.

I guess you got over that wet face thing, huh?

Love, Grandma

 

I can do this, right?

 

 

When did you learn how to swim? Who taught you?

❤ MegaNerd

30 Responses

  1. You can TOTALLY dominate the swim part!!!!! I was so amazed and jealous that you swam in open water….I’ve been swimming competitively for 15+ years and I’ve NEVER done that! Don’t be scared! You’ll do great…I’m sending positive vibes your way! 😀

  2. you GOT this!

  3. You can do it! Just jump in and get it done with. Then you can do the bike and the run knowing that you have already succeeded at one thing that day.

    As for the question, I learned to swim from my Nana who was a professional swimmer and then a swim teacher. She was a great teacher and I love swimming.

  4. you are going to DO IT and you are going to be AWESOME . . . and for a little extra motivation maybe watch Caitlin’s triathlon video

    PS – I love seeing people’s baby/childhood pictures!

  5. OMG that letter from your grandma is SO cute! You can definitely do this! No need to worry about a thing! Just keep telling yourself that you’re strong and amazing– and you’ll do just fine! You are going to own that open water swim.

  6. You will be fine! Slow your breathing when you start getting anxious about it and change the negative thoughts to positive ones. You can do this, and once you totally rock it, you will know for the future what you are capable of!!
    Relax!

  7. Love that email from your grandma!

  8. Just breath and relax and you will do fine. I am doing it with you so we will both be out there 😀

  9. Hey girl, you can TOTALLY DO THIS!

    Listen to Dory 🙂

  10. Aaawwwww! Your grandma sends email? How freakin cute!

  11. You’ve got this! Honestly, even if you have trouble saying calm you can take your time. I know that’s hard to think about in a race, but you’re going to do great!! I have full faith in you. 🙂 I’m really really stinkin’ proud of you!!

  12. You’ll rock the swim!

    I think it’s interesting that so many of us freak out about the swim! I too had a HORRIBLE swim the last time I was in a pool before my race.

    Good luck tomorrow!

  13. Aw that note from your grandma is so cute 🙂 ROCK IT OUT tomorrow!!

    xoxo

  14. Awww – that was SO cute, Megan!
    You sure can do it!
    Btw – you´re grandma´s the sweetest 🙂
    Go, girl!

  15. You are going to be AWESOME!!! That swim will be over before you know it!

    I learned to swim in my pool, I think. No swimming lessons, I kind of taught myself and turned into a little fish. I couldn’t wait to stop using the “bubble”. I LOVE swimming!

  16. Such an awesome email from your Grandma! Yes, not only can you do this but you are going to totally rock the swim!

    I remember taking swimming lessons from a big lady who wore a bandana on her head. She’d just throw us in the water. She scared the crap out of me!

  17. Megan. First: love your blog. I just started following you within the past few weeks. Second: you will do great! The most important thing is that you are prepared and taking the swim seriously. You will rock it! Can’t wait to hear how it went.

  18. Hi Megan! Since I began reading your blog almost a year ago, I’ve come to discover that now only are you a very strong athlete, but you’re also a very strong person! With that being said, good luck w/ the sprint triathlon! Here is some inspiration!
    – “Power is so characteristically calm, that calmness in itself has the aspect of strength.”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6wRkzCW5qI (i watched this during finals week!)

  19. You can definitely dominate the swim! In my one (and only so far) sprint tri, I remember having a little difficulty with the swim but it was over SO fast. Just push through and stay confident – it’s all in the head!

  20. Your grandmother’s email is so sweet! Seriously, there is nothing a grandmother’s love can’t help. 🙂

    I learned to swim when I was three years old -my mom insisted that I religiously go to swimming lessons – and I eventually taught little kids how to swim when I got older.

  21. I know I would be nervous too, but that is because I haven’t ever given swimming as a workout a shot. You are going to do great!! Good luck!!!!

  22. It took me FOREVER to learn how to swim because it freaked me out, even as a child. Now, I’m not a great swimmer still but I can swim.. And open water swims? Oh, the thought definitely scares me. BUT you can do anything you set your mind to! Totally believe in you!

  23. Cannot wait to read all about your tri adventures!!!!! Have fun!!!!

  24. Relax and think positive – you can, and will, totally rock the open water swim! Believe!

  25. I keep logging in to check if you’ve posted anything about the tri yet! I know it’s going great (or has already gone great).
    This may motivate me to try a tri 🙂

  26. Aww, that’s such a cute email and photo! Don’t get discouraged! You can do this sister!

    I learned to swim at a very young age but I remember my first year of swim lessons I refused to put my head under and my mom would be upset if my hair was dry when she picked me up!

    Then she started teaching me and next thing you know I’m swimming competitively! I love to swim recreational and competitively.

  27. WOW…you killed that bike! What an awesome time!!!

  28. Oh and as for swimming…I don’t ever remember not knowing how to swim. My mom can’t swim and it was ultra important to her that I learned how to swim young! I literally was in infant swim classes. I probably learned to swim before I could walk. I am not joking.

Leave a Reply

