Moss Park Sprint Triathlon Recap

Today’s race was an amazing experience. I finished my first sprint triathlon, and more importantly conquered my fear.

 

DSC_0478 

My alarm went off way before sunrise, around 5:00 am. I quickly got dressed, grabbed my bike, and bag of gear, and made some toast to eat on my way out.

 

I wasn’t too hungry, but peanut butter toast with blackberry jelly seemed easy on my unsettled stomach. 

 

DSC_0425 

I arrived at the triathlon about 40 minutes before it started, leaving just enough time to get marked up and set up my transition area.

IMG_0142

The volunteers wrote my age, 23, on one leg, and “T” for Triathlon on the other. There were multiple events going on and it’s an easy way to identify who is doing which.

IMG_0150

 

After a quick bathroom pit stop, I ran to the water and waited for my wave to start. 

IMG_0151

The sun started to rise while we were waiting…

 

IMG_0152

 

Five minutes after 7:00am, and the second wave started! As the gun went off, I panicked for about 10 seconds. I didn’t want to swim! Realizing that it was now or never, I slowly walked out into the water.

 

DSC_0432

The water was a perfect temperature. Had it been slightly warmer or colder, I probably would have been uncomfortable. As I began to get deeper in the water, I realized just how dark and murky it was. I took my first stroke and realized that I couldn’t see more than a couple of inches in front of my face. I was pretty freaked.

 

IMG_0162 

The swim course consisted of a triangular formation of two bouys, and the beach. The first buoy was to my right, so I decided to stay to the back right of the pack.

 

I felt like everyone was swimming so much faster than me. I panicked a few times because I couldn’t see anything in the water. Each time I started to freak out, I closed my eyes and pulled through the water. I tried to keep my mind off the unknown, and focus on getting to the next buoy.

 

I ended up switching to backstroke a few times so that I could catch my breath, which I think saved me a ton of energy. When I would try to swim freestyle, I had to keep my face out of the water much of the time.

I swam hard all the way until my feet hit bottom. I was so happy to be on land!

 

IMG_0173

My swim technique could use a great deal of improvement, but I managed to make it out alive! I thought the swim would take approximately 20-21 minutes to complete based on previous swims, but it only took 16 minutes!

 

I ran onto the sand, and could here my friends screaming for me. I couldn’t see them, but I knew they were there!

 

IMG_0176

 

There was about a quarter mile run to transition 1. I ripped my swim cap and goggles off as I jogged to the transition area.

 

DSC_0439

 

I fumbled around a little bit with throwing a shirt on, snapped on my helmet, put on my socks and shoes, and took my bike off the rack. I was really nervous for some reason, and my body was shaking.

 

IMG_0184

 

I managed to pull it together and head out to the bike course.

 

DSC_0446 

The bike course was 12.4 miles, and I completed it in 41:04 or about a 17 mph average pace.

IMG_0188

I underestimated how hard it would be to start pedaling my bike after swimming. I had not practiced it, but after a few minutes it wasn’t too bad.

 

I tried to keep a high cadence for most of the ride, thinking that it would save some energy for the run. I focused on passing one person at a time, and not on the entire distance. It actually worked out pretty well, and I was off the bike before I knew it.

 

DSC_0461

 

Transitioning from bike to run was pretty seamless. I re-racked my bike, took of my helmet, slipped off my bike shoes, and quickly tied my running shoes.

 

I splashed some water on my face, because somehow it was covered in sand. It felt GOOD!

 

DSC_0463

 

My legs felt pretty heavy, but my goal was to maintain a 10 min/mile pace. That’s the pace that I have been used to running the past couple of months, and I felt like that would be a reasonable goal.

 

IMG_0190

After the first 4-5 minutes, I was about to pick it up to around 9:42 min/mile pace and maintain that for the remainder of the 2.75 mile run.

 

DSC_0473

I approached the finish line with chills. It felt SO good to race again. I didn’t realize how happy it makes me!

 

DSC_0478

I felt so accomplished as I crossed that finish line! Not only did I tackle a new race (triathlon), but I faced my fears of open water swimming.

 

My official times:

Swim: 16:04   (750 metera)

Run to T1: 2:38

T1: 2:19

Bike: 41:04 (12.4 miles)

T2: 1:05

Run: 26:55 (2.75 miles)

 

Total Time: 1:30:11

 

 

I consider my first triathlon a success! 🙂 Perhaps another tri will be in my future?

 

 

BIG thanks to all my friends (Mark, Kelly, Katy and Adam) for coming to cheer for me! It was so nice to have a fan club/photography team 😉

 

IMG_0138

 

❤ MegaNerd

60 Responses

  1. Congratulations! You did an amazing job!

  2. Great recap! Congrats 🙂

  3. […] can read her race recap for all the race day details. There are 0 comments to this post. Add Your […]

  4. How exciting! Congratulations to you! That is fantastic. 🙂

  5. Congrats!! You should be extremely proud of yourself 🙂

  6. Congratulations!!! That is definitely a success. Now enjoy some R&R&R – rest, relaxation, refueling. 😉

  7. Great job! I am so happy for you – what a great accomplishment! Congrats, Megan!

  8. way to go megan!!! great job!

  9. Awesome job! Your pics are great and sounds like you rocked it. A friend of mine swam her first tri a tri with her head above the water the entire time. I can’t imagine how scary that would be not to be able to see anything.

  10. Awesome job!!! This post made me really want to try a tri – ironically I’m most nervous about the BIKING part as I’m really slow!

  11. Congrats! Awesome job on the triathlon 🙂

    After reading about all the triathlons, I decided to do one for myself in September in North Carolina. I’m a little worried about the swim but mostly worried about the run for some reason?! I guess because I’ll have finished everything else and probably be tired by then…

  12. Yea for finishing your first tri! Great job!

  13. congrats Megan!! You did awesome! Such an inspiration

  14. Congrats! Way to face your fear! 🙂

  15. great job megan! you did awesome for your first one! i remember being there when meghann did her first one last year! too much fun!

  16. Congratulations! You are amazing, keep it up!

  17. Amazing amazing amazing. I am so impressed! Someday I hope to blog about my first triathlon! Great job!

  18. you rule. i miss doing tris…thanks for writing this!

  19. Awesome!! Good job!!
    How did you feel about the tri shorts/bra combo with going from wet to then dry? I have a sprint tri in Aug/Sept.

  20. Congratulations! What an amazing accomplishment.

  21. Congrats! That’s SO awesome that you did a triathlon! Way to face your fears and go above and beyond what you expected from yourself 😀

  22. Congratulations! You totally kicked your fear’s butt! 😉

  23. Congrats, Megan! Just reading your description of the open swim freaked me out, so I’m pretty impressed you did that. I think Debbie and I were running while you were triathlon-ing, and we were definitely thinking about you! Glad it went well!

  24. Yayyy Megan! Congratulations<3

  25. that is so awesome, great job!! I could never do that swim!

  26. Congrats girl!! That’s awesome!!

  27. congrats! you did awesome!

  28. So awesome!! Inspirational to watch you through the whole process. Way to go!!!!!!!!!!

  29. K I sound WAY ridiculous but this literally made me so so so happy to read I like, couldn’t stop smiling! Congratulations! You look so happy and kick ass!

  30. That is so cool of you doing the triathlon! Congrats! 🙂

  31. Congrats girl!! You did awesome!! Makes me excited and nervous for my first tri in 2 weeks!!

  32. Congrats Megan! You’re so awesome and are now officially a triathlete! You totally kicked the swim’s butt! I am so happy for you. So do you have a strong desire to do another tri? I did after my first one a couple of months ago.

  33. AWESOME job, girl!! You rock 🙂

  34. Congrats to you Megan!!! Bask in your post-tri glow 🙂

  35. Loved reading your recap. Sorry I’m a little behind. You did great!

    I haven’t run any races yet but I find it so admirable and inspirational to read recaps. The pic of you on the bike going around the corner made me wonder what you were thinking that very moment.

    I think you’re incredible strong and amazing for doing what you did and you should be super proud of yourself!

    ps Great job on the open-water swim. I knew you could do it!

  36. Hooray for a successful tri – I knew you’d rock it!! Great recap.

  37. Wow, congratulations – how exciting! You made it look like so much fun, even though I’m not a biker/swimmer I’m itching to try one!

  38. Congratulations!!! And – seriously – what an AWESOME time 🙂 You rock girl!

  39. Yay you! Congrats!!! I’m feeling inspired to train for my own tri!

  40. Yay! Congrats on an awesome tri! 🙂 You must feel SO accomplished. What a good feeling!

  41. Congrats on your first tri! You look so happy in all your pictures!

  42. Congratulations, Megan!
    I knew you could do it, girl 🙂

  43. Congrats on your race!

  44. Congratulations! Sounds like your first tri was a HUGE success! 🙂

    -Alison

  45. Congratulations on completing your triathlon!! Right now I’m just starting out on a 5km run, so I’m a long, long way from a Tri and admire you greatly. I love your blog, it’s very inspiring, keep up the great work!

    – HPG
    Melbourne, Australia

  46. Woohoo! Congratulations!! You did freaking awesome. I would be scared to swim open water before it was totally light!

  47. Congrats, Megan, on your awesome tri!

  48. Congrats!! awesome job! 🙂

  49. Congrats!!! You did awesome!

  50. Wow!!! Way to go girl!!!! That looks like so much fun!! Congrats on conquering your fear! It takes a lot of guts to do that!!!!

  51. Congratulations! You look like you had a blast – I love seeing these posts, it helps me get over my fears too. Great job! 🙂

  52. Awesome!! Congrats!! 🙂

  53. way to go, girl! total inspiration 🙂

  54. Congrats on the tri! That’s on my bucket list of things to do, but first I have to build up my swimming confidence. I’d dominate a dualthalon, but that really just isn’t as cool.

  55. Congratulations, Megan! Especially given your nerves and your nightmares, I’m so happy for you that you completed it so successful! Nice work!

Leave a Reply

