Eat it Up

Rain, rain, go away.

 

DSC_0075

 

It’s hard to tell from this picture, but it’s STORMING! I was hoping to get out for a run tonight, but it looks like that isn’t happening. I ran a measly grand total of 3 miles this week.

 

I spent the afternoon doing random things around the apartment, like organizing this insanely messy pantry. I’m not sure how this happens, but I always seem to buy a ton of stuff for my pantry and never eat it. Hmm…

 

DSC_0564

 

That’s a LOT of food for one person, especially one who is moving in 19 days. Looks like it’s time to start eating down the pantry.

 

My freezer is as equally full.

 

DSC_0077

 

Tonight’s dinner was all pantry and freezer finds. I used a box of spaghetti pasta and alfredo sauce from the pantry, and added cooked frozen shrimp and peas.

  DSC_0060

 

Top with a little bit of salt and pepper, and wah-lah!

 

DSC_0061

 

I have leftovers for at least 4 more meals.

 

I’m going to try to eat as much as possible, and not buy anything other than produce and milk. My meals may get creative, but they may also be boring. Canned soup and crackers, anyone?

 

I’m challenging myself to eat-in as much possible and not buy any pantry items! Can I do it?

 

❤ MegaNerd

10 Responses

  1. My husband and I have been doing this, too, since we are going on vacation. Yesterday we cleaned out all the stuff that will go bad while we are gone–and figured out we had done a surprisingly good job at eating through a lot of what we had.

  2. What a great idea!!! I bet you will be able to come up with some wonderful meals using the pantry items!

  3. Ah, eating the pantry up, I know it well!
    Where are you moving in nineteen days?? That’s cool, another chapter!

    Storms can keep you inside, keep the milage down… but sometimes I love summer thunder and lightening storms, esp in FL for some reason 😉

  4. You can do it! Have a cleaning-out-the-pantry dinner party.

    Where are you moving to? Hope you share!

  5. That’s a great goal! I look forward to seeing the meals you come up with! Good luck!

  6. I really like your blog, (it’s actually one of my favorites to read) and I hope you know I’m not trying to be mean, but it’s “voila”.

  7. Maybe host some going-away meals so you can have some help eating all that?

  8. You can do it! My parents gave me $100 bucks to last me for the next two weeks until the law school disperses financial aid. So, I spend 45 bucks and STOCKED my pantry up! I made cheesy bake lasagne for under $7 with a can of spaghetti sauce, noodles, ground beef, cheese and seasonings I have at home. And, it’ll be my 4th time eating off of it tonight haha. And lots of sandwiches to come! But, this way it’s helping me not eat the fat greasy food of fast food that I’m really trying to break!

  9. Good luck on the move & belated congrats. on graduation!!!

    Any pantry itmes that you do not end up using & have not been opened, can easily be donated to a local food-bank. Something people forget about, so just wanted to throw it out there.

    BE WELL !!!

Leave a Reply

