Memories and Mistakes

Graduation: It’s starting to feel real!

 

DSC_0107

 

I now officially have my cap and gown!

 

DSC_0106 

 

Class of 2010. I can’t believe this is actually happening!

 

DSC_0108 DSC_0110

 

Five years ago, I had no idea where I would be today. I came to college so clueless about what I wanted to do and where I wanted to go. All I wanted to do was have fun and hangout with my friends. Oh yes, and of course stall myself from going into the “real world.”

 

Four years ago, I changed my major to Civil Engineering. I was stuck on one of Orlando’s many horribly designed roads, and told my friends who were in my car at the time, “I want to fix this!” I finally had some sort of direction!

 

Three years ago, I picked up a minor in Business Administration. I fell in love with running and then with a boy. I learned to be independent (financially) from my parents, and started taking my core engineering classes. It was a tough year, but probably one of my best ones at the same time.

 

Two years ago, I thought I had it all figured out. I had a great internship, an awesome boyfriend, was doing well in school, travelling to places like Hawaii (for school), and racing like crazy! I pictured moving to DC with my then-boyfriend and finding some awesome job and living happily ever after with my awesome life.

 

Somewhere between now and two years ago, a lot has changed. I started a blog, quit my internship, and some dreams changed. In a way, I feel like I am back at square one, but I am not the same person as I was five years ago. I am strong and independent. I am much better equipped to tackle the world than I ever could have been back then.

I’ve been feeling a little lost as to the direction of my life. I thought that by the time I graduated college I would have it all figured out, I suppose. I learned a lot about life, love, and calculus in college. I feel scared and excited to start a new chapter of my life, even though I’m not sure what will be written on it’s pages.

 

I have no idea where I will be in another five years, but I am learning to be okay with that. My type-A personality would love to know the exact course to take to happiness, but life doesn’t work like that. It would be so boring if we had no choices to make!

 

Life Lesson Learned: I will not be afraid to make mistakes.

 

Enough heavy stuff for one morning.

 

On to breakfast!

 

DSC_0102

 

It’s been far too long since I made myself an omelet. I changed that today.

 

DSC_0101

 

I whisked together two egg whites and one whole egg in a mug with some salt and pepper. I poured it into a pre-heated pan, and then stuffed it with spinach and cheddar cheese.

 

DSC_0104

 

Breakfast is never complete without some sort of carb in my opinion. That is where my whole grain English muffin came in.

 

DSC_0105   

 

I’m off to do some MAJOR cleaning, laundry, and packing!

 

What was the most important lesson you have ever learned?

 

❤ MegaNerd

32 Responses

  1. Everything happens for a reason! I know it’s cliche, but I really believe it. If you end a relationship, lose a job, etc – it means something else (better?!) is waiting for you 🙂

    Graduation is such a fun, scary, overwhelming, and satisfying time. Enjoy every minute!

  2. Most important lesson learned so far was featured on my blog last week! Did you read it?!
    http://northonthe5.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/the-greatest-life-lesson-ive-learned-so-far/

    I am so excited for you! Finally you are being set free and your hard work is paying off!

  3. I remember being terrified when I graduated from college. No one has it all figured out at that point in their lives – I promise! 🙂

  4. That omelette looks delish. This post of self-reflection is awesome! I remember graduating from college (exactly 5 years ago in August 2005!) and taking the 1st job I was offered b/c I thought I had to. I don’t regret it because I learned a lot that year teaching Kindergarten. I can tell you – the things I’ve done, lessons I’ve learned and relationships that have come and gone have led me to a wonderful place. You are about the embark on an incredible 5 years of growth, excitement, decisions, freedom and responsibility. It’s going to rock!

  5. One of the most important lessons I learned is that working in a job that made me miserable was not worth it – so I quit 🙂 Money is not everything.

    I may have missed it, and I feel bad for asking, but are you and Mark together and how does the move affect things? Sorry if this is too nosy 😦

    • Mark is very supportive of my decision to move to North Carolina, and he actually was the person who suggested it to me in the first place!

      Above everything else, he understands that I have a lot to figure out right now, and he ultimately wants me to be happy with whatever life choices I make. He also doesn’t want to hold me back from pursuing my career, and he is stuck in Orlando for at least another 2 years to finish getting his degree.

  6. I was so worried when I graduated university with a Microbiology & Immunology (ie: no job prospects!) and I had a really emotionally rocky undergrad with numerous relationships, friendship changes, and moving all the time. I never thought I would have been accepted into the post grad program I wanted, married the guy I met on a whim at the tail end of undergrad and have my own condo. I think everything works out, in the end and I know it will for you too.

  7. Congratulations Megan, this is a huge thing! 🙂

    Biggest lesson I learned? Follow your guts. It’s never wrong … even if it’s not what your SUPOSED to do, or what everyone else would want YOU to do … Doing what feels right for you is always the right answer.

    Whatever your future holds it will be awesome. You just don’t know it yet 😉

  8. I’ve learned, through much trial and experimentation, that everything always works out in the end. Always. And if it hasn’t worked itself out yet? Then it isn’t the end. I remind myself of that when things start to get overwhelming.

    Congratulations on your huge accomplishment! And remember, even though you may not have it all figured out this second? It’ll work out in the end 🙂

  9. Congratulations!!! Enjoy every second of graduation because it only happens once! Soak up every second!!!
    I thought I had it all figured out when I graduated from college 2 years ago. I had what I thought was the perfect job. I moved away from home. Two years later, it turns out that it was not my dream job. Lesson learned: I never would have known if I hadn’t tried!

  10. Oh Megan, you are so young! I don’t mean that in a bad way at all, I just mean that we all think we’ll have it figured out by xyz and then things just change and you have so, so much time to figure things out! I’ll be 31 in November, and believe me, between the time I graduated from college 9 years ago and now, soooooo many things are not what I expected. In fact, I moved to North Carolina myself six years ago, which I never could have imagined, and my career is different than I expected, my love life is different, nothing is what i had planned. But I’m happy! Just stay focused on the day to day things, and be grateful for something every single day. You’ll be just fine! Good luck and congrats on graduation.

  11. Woohoo! You did it! I didn’t walk when I graduated from UCF two years ago, the thought of the crowds was just too daunting for me.

    Don’t worry about figuring things out right away, the journey is the fun part…Its been two years since I graduated and I just started my masters degree in something totally different because I realized that I wasn’t going to be happy following that original career path. So, do what makes you happy and don’t worry about the time it takes you to figure it out 🙂

  12. It’s about time you graduated!! 🙂

  13. Congratulations on your graduation. I’m so excited for you!
    If you went and asked a bunch of adults if they are currently where they imagined they’d be 10 years earlier, most of them would say no.
    Life is a funny, complicated, messy and interesting thing. Even the most focused and dedicated person can be steered off course. I guess that is what makes life such an adventure.

    Enjoy every minute of this season of your life because one day you’ll be nearly 34 and realize what a blur your life has been; and you might even mourn for the time you lost by worrying instead of living. But, maybe that’s just me. 😉

    You have a good head on your shoulders and I wish you the best of luck/

  14. I graduated college 5 years ago and I felt exactly the same. i had a plan of going to graduate school and then my final year in college my dreams changed. I felt I was lost and sometimes still today I feel lost. It really is about following your dreams and trying to figure out which ones those are. I would have never thought I would have moved from Richmond, Virginia to Orlando, FL but now i look back and that is how I met my husband. Again you have time and like many have said follow your gut. I went back to my parents house after college to figure out what was best for me! Good luck!

  15. Megan,
    Thank you so much for this post. I just graduated college in May and was determined to have a job out of college along with beginning my future career and life in an area I want to live in.

    Little did I know in August I would still be working at Bonefish grill applying to jobs I am not having any luck in.

    It is so tiring and stressful not knowing where your future will end up and having every day be a mystery but as said earlier in a comment ” everything happens for a reason”

    I am glad to know someone else is feeling the same way I am and also has changed dramatically because of it!

  16. Congratulations on graduation!

    I thought I had my graduation figured out as well. Then a month before, I met my husband. 3 months later, I lived in Melbourne and was unemployed, but completely and utterly in love.

    Now, here I am, 3 years later… Working in a field completely and totally unrelated to my degree, but very happy. Life definitely throws us curve balls!

    Good luck!

  17. Megan, congrats!! I see another 30-something has commented, and I agree with what she said. 9 years ago I graduated, and would have never have guessed I’d end up with the life I have now – my employer, my family, my city… it was nowhere on the radar. Some of life’s greatest adventures are unplanned. Best of luck to you, the world is your oyster!

    @wnd (and anyone else “flipping burgers” while applying for “real jobs” post-college) Good luck and keep at it! It only takes one ‘yes,’ just one!

  18. The only person that will truly deep down make you feel the best about yourself, is YOU.

  19. Congratulations!! This was such a refreshing post to read – in many ways, I feel like I’m in the same boat as you! I have no ideas for what to do w/ myself after college and it’s kinda scary to think I’ll have no set schedule for myself in 2 years! I can do it though, even if it is challenging, etc. 🙂

  20. Congrats on graduating! Can’t wait to see you walk on saturday 😀 xoxo

  21. First of all, CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    Most important lesson I’ve ever learned… do what makes you happy, and don’t try to force yourself into doing something you “think” you should be doing. I tried for 10 years to make myself into a sales person and I’m not! Now I work with kids and love coming to work every day.

    Good luck to you in your future! You deserve it!

  22. Congratulations!!! What an awesome achievement – not to mention super exciting!

  23. Great post!!
    It is so true about what you said-life would be so boring if we didn’t had to make and choices.
    Jenna

  24. Congratulations Megan! I feel like I’ve been following you on this life journey for over a year and its been such a pleasure to be with you along the way! 🙂 Amazing things are ahead of you girl!

  25. Congratulations! 🙂

    I’m with you on this post. Life as I thought when I was younger isn’t what it turned out to be… But at 24 years old I am deciding to live each DAY to the fullest. Days equal to weeks, weeks to months, months to years, years to a lifetime. I’m learning to say — So what if the years, months, weeks, days aren’t a set plan…. Focus on today and let tomorrow worry about itself! I hear the best laid plans are never planned 🙂

    Let go, Let God, and Get excited for some “AND SUDDENLY!”s

  26. congrats on graduating!! i love reading your blog because you remind me so much of myself a few years ago…and trust me, you will figure it all out! biggest lesson i have learned- you learn the most about yourself and what you are capable of from the hardest decisions.

  27. I love this post. I have been out of undergrad 3 years now (but was taking grad classes til April) and believe me your life will change by the day/week/month. You are wise to realize so early that you can’t plan or predict exactly how your life will go…even though that would be nice! But hey, it keeps life exciting, right!?

Leave a Reply

