The Bean by Day

It’s been another fun day of exploring Chicago!

 

DSC_0249

 

My morning started off with a fun run with some new friends! Unfortunately, I didn’t get a group picture.

 

We ran all through Millennium Park and up to the Riverwalk before turning around. I would guess we ended up running about 4.0 miles total.

 

DSC_0213

 

After last night’s pizza feast, I woke up feeling not even the slightest bit hungry. I waited until after we ran, and picked up an everything bagel + veggie cream cheese at the Dunkin’ Donuts just outside the hotel.

 

DSC_0180

 

I took a quick shower and headed out the door to meet Katy.

 

DSC_0201

 

She brought along Grace and Gabriela, two new friends! The four of us went to Millenium Park, yet again, to see the bean by day!

 

DSC_0184

 

Last Night:

 

 

Day:

 

DSC_0194

 

I’m so obsessed with this bean!

 

Cloud Gate is a three-story steel sculpture that is more commonly referred to as “the bean” because of it’s shape. Did you know it cost $23 million dollars to build?! How crazy is that!

 

I want to know how they built this thing!

 

DSC_0191

 

I ❤ Chicago !

 

DSC_0187

 

I took over 100 pictures today! Everything is so incredible and picturesque.

 

DSC_0198  DSC_0190

DSC_0200

 

At least I wasn’t the only one! This is why I love travelling with other bloggers. 😀

 

DSC_0202

 

On our way to the Navy Pier, we stopped at Starbucks for some refreshments! I had a Shaken Iced Tea Lemonade, which tasted amazing in the heat.

 

DSC_0205

 

More pictures:

 

 DSC_0219 DSC_0221 DSC_0225 DSC_0229 DSC_0231

 

Next Stop: The Navy Pier !

 

DSC_0233

DSC_0250 DSC_0251

 

I was starving by this point, and had a CLIF Crunch bar, which was tasted like a Nature Valley bar, but way better.

 

DSC_0254

 

The four of us had already walked about 3.0 miles from the hotel, so we took a cab to lunch.

 

DSC_0258

 

Katy’s friend recommend Giordino’s, and even though I ate pizza last night, I was excited!

 

DSC_0261

 

Anne and Chandra met us for lunch after walking about 20 blocks too far. I’m glad they finally found us!

 

DSC_0269

DSC_0270

 

We ordered a plain cheese pizza for the table to share…

 

DSC_0265

 

…and individual salads (I chose the Greek) to fill us up.

 

DSC_0266

 

We did a bit more walking and shopping until finally coming back to the hotel.

 

DSC_0275

 

It’s time to get ready for the healthy living summit cocktail party!

 

It was a blast last year, and I can’t wait to see everyone! Check out last years’ recap here!

 

Last year’s HLS Cocktail party:

[IMG_5727[2].jpg]

 

❤ MegaNerd

11 Responses

  1. 23 Million to build the bean, really?! Holy cow. I had no idea. It’s so cool how it was copper last night and silver today.

    I love the black/white/red dress combo. That’s my favorite color scheme.

    • The bean cost a lot to build because when they first built it you could see the seams between the steel plates, so they spent another whole year buffing that all out.

  2. the city is SO BEAUTIFUL! you took great pictures!

  3. Love those girls! All the pictures from Chicago make me want to go there. Hop you are having a blast right now at the cocktail party!

  4. LOVE your pictures! Looks like you are having an amazing time! You deserve it after all of your hard work finishing school!

  5. I love your dress. 🙂

  6. Oh WOW that pizza looks SERIOUSLY amazing!

  7. Glad you like Chi-town so far! Which deep dish pizza did you like better?

  8. NICE. Sounds like a grrrrrrreat day! 🙂

  9. It was great to meet you this weekend…and to go for a run on Friday morning! 🙂

  10. Found your blog from Caitlin’s. I love your photos!

    Interesting fact about the bean! I love to imagine they just had a huge mold that the poured in metal to make the bean. Sadly, that’s probably not at all how it happened!

Leave a Reply

