Healthy Living Summit 2010

It’s been a crazy weekend here in Chicago! I’m so glad that I was able to attend another awesome year at the Healthy Living Summit!

 

IMG_0199

 

Saturday morning started off with an awesome breakfast buffet. It’s such a relief to be at an event with the food tailored to a healthy lifestyle rather than tons of fatty breakfast meats and sugar laden pancakes and such.

 

DSC_0283

 

I went for oatmeal, a spoonful of almond butter, a pile of berries, and a blueberry muffin. YUM!

 

DSC_0291 

 

The event itself was a lot of fun to attend! The girls who put it together did a fabulous job, and the sponsors were awesome.

 

DSC_0296

 

I loved that there were options or “tracks” this year, and could choose which event you wanted to attend.

 

DSC_0299 

 

The events I went to were:

  • Fueling for Fitness
  • Stepping up your Blog Photography
  • You Can Have it All: Time Management for your Healthy Lifestyle
  • The Five W’s of Strength Training

 

I took some really thorough notes (I may or may not already miss being a student) so if you want any more information, let me know! I can’t wait to put some of what I learned into practice, especially with the photography!

 

Two other cool things I got to do were test my body fat percentage and meet with a registered dietician.

 

DSC_0360

 

I was happy to hear that my body fat was in the “fitness” range. I also learned that I should be taking a calcium supplement, which will be much easier considering the Adora disks (chocolate calcium supplement) that were given out at breakfast!

 

DSC_0289

Quaker provided the morning snack:

 

DSC_0300

 

Not surprisingly, lunch was epic! Thank you, Arnold and Orowheat!

 

DSC_0331  DSC_0329 DSC_0330

 

I started with one plate, which I loaded with veggies…

 

DSC_0335

 

…and went back for a second. I think all the walking/running (about 6 miles+ per day) really started catching up to me!

 

DSC_0342

 

Plus, a mini piece of oreo pie for dessert. I’m a sucker for sweets.

 

DSC_0338

 

Athenos provided the afternoon snack…

 

DSC_0353 DSC_0343 DSC_0345 DSC_0350

 

…and a fun photo shoot to go with!

 

IMG_0263 IMG_0260 IMG_0261 

 

Feta makes it betta! 😀

 

Attending a conference with so many other women (and a handful of guys) that share a common interest was such a treat. It was great to meet so many people from all over the country.  I feel like Orlando has a great community of bloggers, and I hope that wherever my life takes me I will be able to find some great people.

 

❤ MegaNerd

16 Responses

  1. Wow – it all looks like so much fun!!!!

  2. I just started a blog… totally inspired by all you lovely ladies. I promised myself that I can go to the HLS if I am still blogging next year. You all have so much fun… love it!

  3. This conference looks like it was incredible! It reminds me of the conferences I went to during undergrad but MUCH more relaxed, with 100x better food, and much more intriguing speakers/after party adventures! I am looking forward to reading more about your post-college epic future!!

  4. Looks like so much fun! I love all the healthy food spreads!

    I for one would love it if you shared more of the information you learned from the sessions with us 🙂 Especially the photography one!

  5. if your life takes you to charlotte *cough* you’ll find great people… 😉

  6. Oreo pie?!! Ah, that looks so tasty. I missed that one on the dessert table, gah!

    It was so fun to meet you! Good luck with the upcoming move and job-search – keep me posted 😉

  7. Hi Megan!
    I would love to have more info on the Time Management for your Healthy lifestyle section! If you will be posting on your blog, cool, cause I read everyday! I think I also read that the video for each session will be on the HLS site eventually, so that will be great too!
    Looks like the HLS weekend was a blast and I hope to attend next year (as a reader…that has been inspired by you lovely ladies to maybe one day start my own healthy living blog…)!
    Thanks for the great recaps!
    Nikki T 🙂

  8. It was a whirlwind weekend! So glad we had the chance to meet and run together 🙂

  9. I loved meeting you this weekend! You are going to totally rock at whatever you do in life. I can’t wait to see what you end up doing – and remember to take risks…perhaps a hot Australian boyfriend in your near future? 😉

  10. Looks like a blast!! Love the photo shoot haha 🙂

  11. I loved meeting you this weekend and hanging out!! You’re one of the sweetest and most fun bloggies I met all weekend 🙂 I’m so sad to be home already…hope you’re having a great start to your week!

  12. I would love to know what the 5 w’s to strength training are and how to fuel for fitness. It sounds like an awesome event to attend. I’m very interested in going next year!

  13. Megan, I would love some info on the Time Management session. I am thinking of getting into the blog world, but with my new job blogging seems kinda daunting! Any advice is appreciated.
    Thanks.

  14. I would love to know what the 5 W’s of strength training are! also, the Time Management session would be great. I always have problems fitting in exercise, the time and effort it takes to eat healthfully and time for my friends and family…

  15. OH that tool you are using to test your body fat percentage, is definitely not an accurate one. We had the same one at a health expo at my school and my friend who does not work out and also has more fat on her scored in the lowest range possible for body fat % and I scored higher than her. We also learned in my sports nutrition class that the tool isn’t accurate and the only way to get an accurate body fat percentage is to have a scan or underwater test done. Because the little thing you hold has no idea what is fat and what is muscle.

    Just an FYI! 🙂
    Everyone’s experience from HLS looks like so much fun!

  16. I’d love to read your notes if you type them up and share them with your lovely blog readers. The food and all the shenanigans from the weekend look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

