Seven Mile Success

It’s been over seven months since I have attempted any run beyond 6.0 miles. Even then, I can count the number of times I have run 5.0+ miles since the Disney Marathon on my ten fingers.

 

I have become so tired of feeling like I am “not a runner anymore” and decided to change that. I got tired of saying things like, “I am so out of running shape.” I noticed that it started bothering me that ALL of the girls I trained for the marathon with have either run another marathon since, are training for another, or have some other epic goal (like an ironman) in mind. I miss running! I miss racing, and training, and feeling proud of myself for accomplishing something that I have worked hard for.

 

My life has drastically changed since January. I moved twice, graduated from college, had a knee injury, and other crazy life stuff. I think that a long break from official training was absolutely necessary and made me want to come back to the sport even more.

 

About a week ago, I decided to get back into training mode. I have been sporadically running for a few months, and want to slowly build back up. I am planning on running the Miracle Miles 15k as well as a half marathon before the end of the year. I am so pumped!

 

Last night, I dug the Garmin out of storage, and charged her up.

 

IMG_0225

 

My alarm went off promptly at 6:00am and I ate half a CLIF bar, just like old days. Sweet bliss.

 

IMG_0211

 

I met Joanna, who is brand new to running and one of my BFF Debbie’s other bridesmaids, for a long run. She is also training for Miracle Miles, and we have decided to do our long runs together! Hooray for a new training buddy!

 

IMG_0213

 

Joanna has never run more than 6.0 miles in her life, so it was definitely an exciting challenge for both of us! We agreed that we would walk if necessary, slow down, stretch, anything we needed to do to complete the run. No pressure! Neither one of us are dying to be injured, and taking it slow was a must.

 

It was quite easy to stay slow considering the scenery we were enjoying!

 

IMG_0212

 

Joanna and I discussed all things about running: which type of socks to wear? why does my toe hurt? All awesome questions that I myself had to ask when I began running.

 

We chatted, ran, and walked a bit and finally completed our goal: 7.0 miles!

 

IMG_0214

 

Total Running time: 1:17:35

 

  • Mile 1:  10:40
  • Mile 2:  10:24
  • Mile 3:  10:33
  • Mile 4:  12:46 (walked over bridge)
  • Mile 5:  10:19
  • Mile 6:  12:19 (more walking… sooo tired!)
  • Mile 7:  10:27

 

Congrats on the new PDR, Joanna! 😀

 

I forgot how hard (yet awesome) it feels to run 7.0 miles! I am way slower than I used to be, but I’m proud of myself for getting back out there. It’s so easy to be discouraged right now, but I just keep telling myself that I can only compare myself… to myself. I know what I have been doing, and I know what I’m capable of.

 

YAY! Seriously, I never ever thought I would be happy about an 11:00+ average pace. I guess I can surprise myself!

 

Post-run breakfast was a Strawberry-banana chobani:

IMG_0219

 

My 13-year old roomie helped me separate my food from the family’s yesterday by plastering my name and a zillion decorations. Excessive, but gets the point across… not that I mind if they eat my food!

 

IMG_0218

 

Plus, raspberries.

 

IMG_0221

 

Yum, yum!

 

IMG_0224

 

Now, if only I had a glass of Orange juice… I think this morning would be perfect. 😉

 

I know that it will take time to get back to my old level of fitness, but I don’t think it will take as much time as it did the very first time. 

 

Have you ever taken an extended vacation from running? How did it feel when you came back to it?

 

❤ MegaNerd

44 Responses

  1. Aww my two best buddies running together!! Glad you had a good run! I so wish I could have joined!! See you both in 6 DAYS–CRAZINESS!! ❤

    • we wish you could have joined, too! i miss you pal!

      I told Joanna that we had to run 8 miles on Thursday because we leave Friday, and she’s like “oh, where are we going?” lol… i guess September snuck up on us!

      are we planning on still doing 3-4 miles on saturday? 😀

  2. I’ve never been much of a runner, but for the past few weeks (well, this summer as a whole) I’ve been in a serious exercise rut. But as of *yesterday* I’m starting to feel myself come out of it! It’s great because I actually really, really want to exercise rather than viewing it as a chore (which, is sometimes inevitable for me). I “ran” yesterday – barely – but it felt awesome. I’m definitely not at the level of fitness I was at before, but I think I’ll be right back where I was after a couple of weeks =)

    • Great attitude!

      I think that you really have to have the mindset of “exercising for fun/enjoyment/health” rather than as a chore or punishment. It’s hard to have that mindset, but sounds like we are both “getting it” at the same time 😀

  3. Good for you for getting back into it! I took a running break after I ran the NYC Half in March. I continued to run, but didn’t follow a program. I liked feeling free to run however far I wanted to. But with the NYC Marathon getting closer, I started a real program about a month ago. It feels so good to be back on a training plan, as tough as it might be!

  4. Last summer I spent 5 weeks travelling over canada and the usa- loads of walking but not running at all. When I got home my first few runs were really hard work; I had to stop and walk after 20 minutes, whereas before my break I was running for over an hour fine. But after a few weeks I was back to normal and in fact I think the break did me good, as I was raring to go, looking forward to it, and properly rested. So I am sure that the break will do you good too. It didnt take long to get back to normal, and I started running with 1 min walk, 1 min run, so properly from the beginning!
    🙂

  5. PS congrats on the 7 mile run good stuff
    🙂

  6. That’s great you are getting back out there! Sounds like an excellent run. How nice to have someone to enjoy it with as well.

  7. Great job! I have to do six miles tomorrow and I haven’t done that in quite some time.

    Enjoy the rest of your day 🙂

  8. Hi hi hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a while and have officially decided to train and run for a half marathon on November 28! Have you found any training plans to be especially helpful? I run quite a bit and ran in high school but that was about 4 years ago and I haven’t done more than 5 miles since then…you are so inspirational though I’ve been looking back at your previous posts trying to figure out what you did exactly but I can’t seem to find anything.! OY I hope I can do this…

  9. I’m training for my first 5K in October. It’s been really rewarding, but challenging at the same time. I wanted to say thank you for this post. It’s nice to know that even great runners don’t always find it easy and run 9 minute miles all the time. It’s just the inspiration I need for my run today!

  10. I had major surgery 3.5 weeks ago (a nice 4-inch incision in my belly!) and haven’t run in 4 full weeks now. At first I didn’t miss it much–it was hot out and I was kind of out of it–but now fall-type weather is starting to move in and I miss it horribly. I may give it a try again this week, but I’m a little nervous. I had to take 3 months off last spring for a stress fracture, so I know it is possible to come back and get back to your previous times, but it took me a good 8 months to get back to my old speeds.

  11. Awesome run!! I took about 3 weeks off from running after my last half-marathon (to let some nagging injuries heal up) and I could definitely tell a difference in my endurance. It’s slowly coming back though!

  12. After my marathon in June, I hurt the cartilage in my right knee (some jerk sold me the wrong shoes for my feet). So I had to take a month off… ever since I haven’t been running regularly, but I just bought NEW & AWESOME running shoes. I went for a four mile run last week and I felt great! I’m thinking about running another marathon in November. 🙂

  13. I took a few years off, came back for a month and hurt my knee. SUCKS!

    Congrats on today’s run!

  14. I can SO relate to this! I’ve been in a running slump too and it’s so hard not to get discouraged. Great job! 🙂

  15. great job on the 7. sometimes a break is necessary and you’ll be back in running shape before you know it; the begining is the most frustrating. i took a forced 6 month break when i fractured my hip, and then had to come back frustratingly slow. i didn’t think i was capable of running so slowly and laboriously- i was once so fast! but, with hard work, the right plan and a lot of patience, i am running as fast as used to, and appreciate it a lot more too!

  16. Yeah I take breaks on and off ( i had/ have a spine fracture sports injury) so I have to take it day by day.

    But and awesome run never feels bad 🙂

  17. You said it exactly!!! I am now in “training mode” after a long stretch of little to no running, due to several injuries..one after another! I truly have felt that I am not a runner anymore and Like you, my friend are all getting faster, doing races, planning all these amazing adventures. Today was the 2nd time I have done 8 miles since my marathon last October….I am SO MUCH SLOWER, which is pretty discouraging, but these days, I have to be thankful for every run that does not result in injury! I’ve missed it…and especially that sense of accomplishment when I’m done! Thanks for voicing it…sometimes people just need to hear they are not alone in their struggles!!

  18. Congratulations! I’ve taken a (verrry) extended break from athletics, too, and it feels SO good to finally be swimming (my version of running) again!

  19. that pace is really good for not having run in so long! congrats!

  20. Way to go! I am currently on a break since I’m going to have my baby any day now and I know I have to take six weeks off afterwards but I can’t wait to get back into it.

    I haven’t ever run a marathon like you but I’m hoping someday to do races like that!

  21. I have never really been a runner, and late last year I built myself up so that I could run 5km non-stop on the dreadmill. That was the best I ever got, and then I let Christmas, etc eat into my fitness.

    A couple of weeks ago I restarted the Couch to 5k and it feels GREAT. All the bloggers, including you, who think nothing of going and busting out a few miles, are really inspiring me to go through with it. 🙂

    I like the fact that you are blogging about having to get used to running again – very real. 🙂

  22. Congrats on the lucky 7! I was so happy to see Joanna and read you guys were running together (probably not as happy as Debbie, though, lol)!

  23. Seven miles has been our longest ever run. I would love to pass it… I should sign up for a 15k 🙂

  24. Woohoo, congrats!!!! I’m currently on a running hiatus due to a stress fracture… going on 8 months now! SUCKS!

  25. Congrats on your run! Hooray for a runner buddy..I think thats what seriously holding me back from embracing running.

  26. Congrats on the 7 miles!! I’ve taken a break from running since April, and my half marathon training starts TOMORROW!! I’m so excited to get back into it…breaks are necessary sometimes.

  27. Congrats on the long run!

  28. It’s hard to come back. Every time I’ve taken a break, I have to deal with the “this distance used to be so easy and now it’s really hard” feelings. But once you get back into it, it’s fun again.

  29. It’s so hard, isn’t it?! Try to think of all the milestones you get to hit again. Like today you ran 7 miles! Maybe next week you’ll run 7.5…or maybe you’ll run 7 faster than this week. Celebrate your successes!

  30. Congrats Megan! Running is sooo hard for me & I have a had time really getting into it. I’m good at short distance but have always longed to be a long distance runner! I’ll get their someday. I really appreciate your attitude toward running. It gives me hope 🙂

  31. Congrats on your run! I also ran 7 miles as my long run this weekend, and I had a really rough run. I’m excited for you about the 15k, can’t wait to read all about your training!

  32. Congrats on ur 7 mile run girlie! And strawberry/banana Chobani? I didn’t know there was such a thing! Awesome 🙂

  33. congrats on running 7 miles I know it probably feels great and I think it’s good you took a much needed break.

    The longest break I have taken from running was 1 month after the marathon because I got terribly sick from killing my body.

    Then I took another month break from exercise all together because my body was letting me know it was DONE. Getting back into running was not easy but I’m happy I’m running again!

  34. Congrats on the run! Since I became a “runner” I haven’t (but that was only a year ago!). In high school, I had been consistently running 3-4 miles a day but then I hurt my ankle tumbling and was out for 3 months. It was tough getting back in shape for everything, but I found that running came back the fastest 🙂

  35. I ran my first half marathon in June and really haven’t run much since. The training was so stressful (I ran a 10 miler, a 17.75K, a 5K, and the 1/2 marathon all within two months) I was really burnt out so I’ve been slacking. I am signed up to run a 10 miler in Oct. and a 10K at the end of this month so I’ve been trying to kick it back into high gear. I ran 3 miles yesterday and was annoyed with my time (around 9:45 min/miles) but I really needed the break and I’m OK with having to push myself again. It’s about getting out there and doing it that counts .. right?? lol
    Nice to see you back in action!

  36. I am not a runner, but I take about 4-6 spin classes a week. This summer I took 4 weeks off… and coming back wasn’t easy. My performance was way down on my first class back. But… it didn’t take me too long to get back to my peak performance! Sometimes a break is well deserved and needed.

  37. […] but there is always next week. I felt good about tonight’s run, and much stronger than I did on Saturday’s 7.0 miler. […]

  38. […] crazy how fast I have been improving since coming back to running a few months ago. Two months ago, I struggled to maintain an 11:00 min/mile pace for a  7.0 mile run. Yesterday, I was able to […]

Leave a Reply

