Weekly Run Down

This week has been an epic running week indeed!

 

I did two things this week that I haven’t done since the Disney Marathon:

  • I ran over 20 miles in one week (20.5, but still over 20!)
  • I ran a 8.0 mile long run!

 

I feel like 8.0 miles is considered a long run for me right now. Seven didn’t feel terribly hard, but this morning’s 8.0 miler was a mental and physical challenge! I got plenty of sleep last night, and woke up before it was scorching hot, but I think that I could have been dehydrated. I forgot to bring a water bottle, which was a big mistake!

 

Before setting out on my long run, I had the last of my CLIF kid  Z-bar stash. I’m liking this s’mores flavor! These seem to be enough fuel for a run, yet doesn’t leave me feeling like I have rocks in my stomach while I run.

IMG_0312

 

I completed my run in 1:21:07, which sadly is only a few seconds longer than it took to run a 15k (9.3 mile race) last year. Le sigh.

 

IMG_0310 IMG_0311

 

I know I won’t be breaking my PR at this year’s Miracle Miles 15k. There’s only two weeks left to go, and I am tons slower than I was at this time last year. After taking what turned into months off of running, I’m honestly really glad to have a goal to push me to get back to the distance even if I’m not speedy.

I got back from my run and promptly jumped into a cold shower. I can’t stand sitting around in sweaty clothes!

 

Breakfast consisted of fat free vanilla publix yogurt, strawberries, and dark chocolate granola.

IMG_0309

YUMMY!

My other weekly runs leading up to today’s long run included:

 

Tuesday

I ran 5.0 miles before work! Yes, I woke up at 6:00am and got my behind out the door! I wish I could keep this up. I held my pace around 9:41 min/mile and finished in 48:25.

 

 

Thursday

Plans fell through to run 6.0 miles, because of a thunderstorm. I waited until after work to run because I was too lazy to get out of bed early and do it. I ended up running 5.0, which is still not too bad! I completed the run in 49:05. My legs felt really heavy after a 10 hour work day. I have to try to get out before work so that I don’t feel so tired!!!

 

Saturday

I slept in, and met Mark the gym because it was way too hot by then to run outside. I ran 2.5 easy miles on the treadmill while he lifted weights.

 

5+5+2.5+8= 20.5!

 

Last week, I set a goal for myself to run over 20 miles, and to complete an 8 mile long run in preparation for the upcoming race. Feeling like  I have something to work towards motivates me like nothing else! I tend to treat my running as a priority rather than something on the back burner that “I’d like to do if I had time” when a race is on my mind. My goals for next week are to run 22.0 miles, and wake up before work to get my miles in.

Do you set weekly mileage goals for yourself? How does your attitude towards training differ when you are training for a race vs. just for fitness?

❤ MegaNerd

14 Responses

  1. I just pick a number and run. Yesterday I decided to do 5 and I ran till I finished 🙂

  2. I’m getting back into running after a long hiatus, and it is hard (for me more mentally than physically). I keep dwelling on my old runs. I look back and think, “I wish I could run like I did in December. I wish I had the body I had in December.”

    Hopefully I will get over that mental hurdle soon.

    Congrats on the great mileage this week. Keep pushing through.

    When I’m training for a race, I am more motivated to be honest. I really like to stick to a schedule, and I’m better about making up missed workouts. When I’m just exercising for fitness, I tend to be more laid back.

  3. congrats! it’s awesome to get back to higher distances after an injury. you should DEFINITELY make it your goal to exercise before work for the whole week – if you can do it for a week, you’ll never turn back! i wake up around 5:15 to get my workouts in, and i LOVE it. it took about a week and a half to become a routine, but i haven’t missed a scheduled workout in 3 months! i have become obsessed with getting my workout in before work because it feel SO good!

  4. Awesome job! I don’t really follow any weekly mileages; I am usually just trying to follow a training plan for a race. Like today, I was supposed to run 9 miles (and I failed), so my 9 miler got rescheduled for tomorrow. It’s all about flexibility for me.

  5. way to go with the 8 miler!! That would be close to impossible for me, so you should be proud!

  6. Congrats on the run and I love zbars. I eat them all the time. I’ve never tried Smores before, normally I stick to chocolate chip, but next time I think I will try it.

  7. Seriously – congrats! What a great running week you have had!

  8. I don’t set mileage goals but I definately think I’m more productive when I am running towards a race or in a program than just for fitness!

    I think I can only dream of ever doing 20.5 miles in a week, I am struggling to get back to even running a 5k at the moment! It’s always inspiring to see how well other people are doing 🙂

  9. Great job, Megan! I definitely make running the #1 priority most of the time when I’m training for a full marathon. Mainly bc I have to or else my marathon will suffer. Those are the days when I force myself to run even if I’d rather go to the gym for cross training or go to yoga.

  10. Your breakfast looks really yummy! and way to go on the running this week! 🙂

  11. I had a similar game plan when training for my first half marathon. I set one total mileage goal and one long run goal each week. Then I increased the total mileage by 1 mile and the long run by 0.5 mile the next week. I loved it because it gave me flexibility…as long as I got my long run in I could split up the other miles however I wanted, whenever I wanted!

  12. Great job! I never set weekly goals for ANYTHING, but I realllllllly should.

Leave a Reply

