Running on Full

My goal to wake up and run before work only happened once so far this week. Tuesday, I dragged myself out of bed, ran 3.0 miles, but managed to make myself late for work.

 

Le sigh.

 

I need to figure out a way to get ready for work faster!

 

Not wanting to be late two days in a row, I decided to wait until Wednesday night to get my run in. I got home late because of some errands, and I was absolutely starving! I had planned to run 5.0 miles outside, but I knew that I needed to eat dinner before I could go, and that it would be dark by the time I was done and digested. What can I say, I have good plans but have trouble following through!

 

I decided to go ahead and make dinner before my run. This meal was one that Mark made for me last week and I decided to recreate because it was so yummy!

 

IMG_0349 

 

Basically, I combined:

  • 1/2 box smart taste penne pasta
  • grilled chicken breast
  • 1/2 jar Alfredo sauce
  • steamed broccoli
  • sweet yellow, red, and orange peppers
  • salt and pepper

IMG_0352

 

It was SO delicious! The best part is that I split it into 3 meals, so I have two leftover meals to eat today and tomorrow! 🙂

 

IMG_0353

 

After I ate dinner and cleaned up my mess, I waited another hour before heading to the gym. I arrived with a still-full tummy, so I ended up doing a 3.0 mile run/walk instead of a 5.0 mile run. I was running on full!

 

Once it’s dark, I’m destined for the treadmill.

 

sb10068517b-001, AAGAMIA /Iconica

 

It wasn’t awful. I’m learning to appreciate the t-mill. I hopped off and did a 20-min upper body strength training session. Next time, I’m going to be sure to wait longer before running after a meal! Breakfast isn’t a big deal, but for some reason lunch/dinner seem to be in my throat if I eat and run.

 

Can you eat meals before you workout? What works for you?

 

❤ MegaNerd

19 Responses

  1. I actually can’t eat anything at all before I run, so I drink a vegetable juice. What sucks is that I am stuck to running first thing in the morning, because once I eat there is no guarantee I will be able to run pain free, even hours later!

  2. Story of my life – I have to be at work at 8:30 and its a half hour commute, so I never actually workout in the morning, though I plan to most days. I’m trying to work on improving my bedtime routine so its easier to get up in the a.m.

    I can’t eat on a full stomach, so even though there’s quite a big break between lunch and dinner I just go with it. If I go home and eat I know I won’t workout.

  3. I totally agree with you! I can do breakfast before working out but not other meals…sometimes I even come home sooo ravenous that I eat dinner and then I just feel sluggish and I can’t work out for many hours afterwards.

  4. Same here!! I need at least 2 hours after lunch or dinner if I’m going to be running but breakfast seems to be okay…maybe because we have a full 7-10 hours of empty stomach?? I can never bring myself to workout before work during the week because I do not like 5am wake-up calls! 🙂

  5. I’m a runner-in-the-dark, in well-lit neighborhoods along main streets, of course. I’ve been lectured, but I still love love love that feeling, especially when the Christmas lights are out! (In Houston in December it’s still about 50 degrees- perfect!)

  6. Your dinner and run reminds me of the episode of the Office where they have the “Rabies Run for a Cure” at work, and Michael decides to carbo-load minutes before the race—by scarfing down pasta alfredo 🙂

  7. This looks delish! Did you toss the veggies in raw? Or stirfry them for a minute first?

    I HATE running after I’ve ate. I try to do my workouts before food.

  8. I used to eat an energy bar before morning swim practice, but it really upsets my stomach to eat before working out. BUT if I don’t eat then I have no energy.

  9. I can run after breakfast but I think I tend to eat less in the morning than at night. I get full a lot quicker in the morning and by the time lunch/dinner rolls around my appetite is in full swing. Maybe you can try planning a snack an hour or so before you plan to run? When I know I have to run after work, I eat something in the car on my way home (it’s about a 45 min drive) that way I’m not ravenous when I walk through the door.

  10. I can’t eat more than just half a banana before a run. I would LOVE to be able to run before work but without a start time of 7am, it never really happens. I once woke up early to hit the gym, but never went back that early. The treadmill isn’t worth losing sleep over IMO.

    It’s a struggle scheduling my runs in the afternoon, but I have to do it or else I just waste time.

  11. I usually have to eat an hour before I run in the morning. In the afternoons and evenings, I rarely eat before running. What works for me is: fruit, dried fruit, nut butter (in moderation), Larabars and sometimes bread. Pasta would just weigh me down!

  12. I am similar and cant run / workout with much food in my tum at all.

  13. I’ll eat a LIGHT snack before a workout but nothing heavy.. not happening!

  14. I can eat a little snack but that’s about it. Otherwise I feel heavy and find it hard to move. I used to dance and now do karate and feeling heavy while trying to move is the worst feeling. Not to mention that I get a side cramp if I eat too much. ouchie.

  15. I can usually eat something, even pasta (though a small portion) as long as it’s at least an hour before I go walking. I am a walker, not a runner (yet), so maybe that has something to do with it. Running would jostle my stomach too much.

    I love the treadmill. I need to check out the awesome rec center/gym that my school has, especially since it’s FREE. I get a bunch of exercise just walking around my hilly school, so some days I’m already exhausted and when that’s added to all the work I’m doing, going to the gym just isn’t on the agenda. I need to work on that.

  16. I’m just recently starting to make myself eat something before I run in the mornings but 99.9% of the time I can’t eat before I run.

    I feel like I have a rock in my stomach, I cramp and its just bad news bears.

    Running on the treadmill does get better. 🙂

  17. If I’m going to eat a full meal, it has to be a few hours before my workout!! I always have a little snack before my crack of dawn workouts though- a banana, a bar, some PB, something like that!! Can’t exercise on a totally empty stomach 🙂 Happy Friday!

  18. Ooh, I can’t eat anything right before I run. I have to plan my eating around my running. If I have a race or run in the morning, I get up extra early and have some PB on toast. If I’m running later in the day, I make sure I’m done eating an hour and a half or so before my run, and I’ll have a spoonful of PB or some nuts before I go out!

  19. I can only eat very small meals before exercising. Something like a bar or peanut butter on toast.

    The one think I can’t do before exercising is drink water. I get an upset stomach during exercise every single time I try to hydrate prior to exercising.

Leave a Reply

