RACE RECAP: Miracle Miles 15k 2010

Today’s race was a tough one, but I’m not giving up!

 

IMG_0446

 

This morning, I completed the Miracles Miles 15k! I completed this race last year as well, and was excited to be a part of it again. This race raises money for the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at the Winnie Palmer Hospital for Children. Yay for helping tiny babies! 😀

 

As I mentioned in my last post, I have been feeling under the weather all week. I took my readers’ advice, and decided to rest all week instead of run. Health wise, I think that helped me to get well faster. I’m not so sure it did wonders for my running though…

 

On the car ride over, I fueled up white a honey wheat bagel with jam:

IMG_0433

 

The race started at 7:20am. At 6:50am, I was only a mile away from the start line, and stuck in dead stopped traffic. I don’t know what it is about this race (held downtown) but the traffic stunk! Mark found a parking spot and we walked about 0.8 miles to the start line. I was worried I wouldn’t get there in time, but at the last minute, I found my friend Joanna!

 

I lined up at the VERY back of the starting line (which is never good in my opinion) and waited almost two whole minutes to cross the starting line!

 

IMG_0436

 

I knew that I wasn’t even going to be able to come close to beating my PR (Personal Record) for this race, so I started off at a moderate 10:00 min/mile pace. For the first 2.0 miles, I felt awesome!

 

Around mile 4.0, my knees literally just locked up. I haven’t felt that much intense knee pain since I ran the Disney Marathon! I got scared! I slowed my pace almost to a 11:00 min/mile which turned out to make the pain worse.

 

I was determined to finish this run, even though I felt like quitting every single minute. It was tough! Each mile felt like an eternity. By the time I reached the 8.0 mile marker, the clock had already ticked past my previous PR of 1:20:56.

 

At this point, I knew I couldn’t even make it to the finish in under 1:30. I told myself over and over not to get discouraged. I should be proud! This is the farthest I have run since January. I am just getting over an injury and back into shape. I have been sick all week, and am out here to have fun!

 

Cough shot…

IMG_0441

 

I’m not so sure it was “fun” but this race definitely motivated me. It made me realize that running isn’t easy, and that the times that I have excelled are also the times when I’m working hardest.

 

Official Time: 1:36:52

Official Pace: 10:23.5 min/mile

 

I crossed the finish line feeling slightly defeated, but also quite proud. I did the absolute best that I possibly could have done, today. Not for the runner I was a year ago… but today. (Thanks for that pep talk, Joanna!)

 

I know that a 10:00 min/mile pace would be amazing for some people, and I think it’s great, too! It’s just hard when I know I have done way better at every other race in the past four years of my life. I worked hard to get in shape, and I’ll just have to do it again!

 

IMG_0443

 

Meghann and Kelly were at the finish line cheering me on! I was glad to find friends at the end of the race. 🙂

 

IMG_0444 

Mark was a trooper and sat through the whole race! Thanks for the hug at the finish line! Sorry I got you all sweaty 😦

 

IMG_0447

 

There was tons of food at the after party, but nothing looks appetizing that early in the morning, or after running almost 10 miles! I grabbed a chunky pineapple popsicle.

IMG_0445

Once I got home, I refueled with a Mango Honey yogurt + granola:

 IMG_0450

 

After my amazing 2.5 hour nap, I ate some more! Half a box of Velveeta with broccoli:

IMG_0452

Side Note:  I NEVER take naps. It is extremely hard for me to fall asleep unless it is pitch black… I would say once or twice a year. I must have been tired!

 

Even though I finished today’s race a whopping 16 minutes slower than one year ago, I am still proud of myself. I have something to work for! I’m planning on training for a half marathon in the upcoming months, and this was the perfect kick-off run! 🙂

 

IMG_0456

 

Now, I’m off to ice my knees and find more food! My belly is getting HUNGRY!

 

❤ MegaNerd

 

P.S. Who votes I take up swimming instead? Just kidding of course. 🙂

31 Responses

  1. I was so happy to see your race recap first in my googlereader this morning 🙂 Anyway, congrats on finishing the race in spite of some difficulties! Sometimes that’s more of a feat than beating a certain time, etc, so good job!

    And on a side note, your pineapple popsicle looks exactly like the wine popsicles I’m often offered over here. It threw me off for a second 😉

  2. Congratulations on the race! I’m always impressed with myself when a something that used to feel easy (running, yoga, weights) leaves me tired and sore after some time away. You know what you’re capable of, and what great motivation to get back there!!

  3. Way to go!!! Careful with that knee sister! Ice ice ice.

  4. Well done on finishing the race even though you have been sick! Running is tough, be happy that you are out there giving it a go and you’re only going to keep improving. 🙂

  5. I’m so proud of you too! 10:23 is an excellent pace considering everything you had going on — just getting back into running AND just getting over being sick. Lots of people wouldn’t have bothered to run it at all and you ran and did great!

    Take care of the knees! Stretch!!

  6. I still think you did awesome! faster than I could do it and I have been consistently running for 1.5 years! good job!

  7. Great job! I’ve been following your blog for a while but this is my first time commenting, and I just wanted to say that I really appreciate how straightforward and honest you’ve been about how your return to running has not been the easiest thing. I’ve been going through something similar, and it helps a lot to know that I’m not the only one! Sometimes reading runners’ blogs can make a person think that everything is going so smoothly for others–I really respect and admire you for being able to tell people that’s not always the case.

  8. So proud of you for finishing!!! You did awesome!

  9. Props to you for powering through and finishing strong even with your knee pain.

    As far as being disappointed about your race time, II think your time is great. But I feel the pain about being slower than you once were. This is the story of my running life!!!!!

  10. Ahh man, I remember when I ran my first marathon back in June, at mile 7 my right knee was in severe pain. Turned out I messed up my knee cartilage due to a shoe salesman selling my the completely wrong type for my flat feet (he gave me shoes for people with high arches!) The rest of the race was extremely difficult, but I finished! 🙂

  11. Great job on finishing and pushing through the knee pain and mental torture! You did it, you finished and then you got a popsicle… whoo hoo!

    Its all about the little pleasures of being a runner…popsicles and finisher medals! 😉

  12. I do! Swimming is the best AND it is really hard to get injured AND you get to swim in large bodies of water outdoors!

  13. Congrats on finishing with a pretty decent time, all things considered!! You definitely should be proud. Racing to me is more about finishing and having fun, no matter what your time. You are an amazing person and an amazing runner–just be patient with your running and think of it as something to fulfill you, not something to beat yourself up over!

  14. SO sad that I missed Miracle Miles 2010 but I think you did great.

    Today is all we have, anyway!

  15. Congrats girl!! That is AWESOME!!!!

  16. Congrats on a great run!!!!!! Very impressive! I love races that go to a good cause 🙂 Are you running any others this year?

  17. Congrats, lady!! I wish we could run the Turkey Trot together again this year!! 😦

  18. Congrats on the run!

    I’m still new to running… I just read your ‘About Me’ page and was further inspired that I will one day be able to run for more than a mile one day!

  19. great job- you should be proud of your determination!

  20. Good for you!! That’s a pretty wicked time 🙂

  21. I love naps and try to sneak them in when I can.. they totally rejuvenate me!

    Congrats on finishing, whether it was 16 minutes slower or not.. You did great. Good job 🙂

  22. Way to hang in there on a tough day. It is SO hard to come back from an injury but you are doing it!!! Keep up the work and you’ll be better than ever before you know it!

  23. Hello. I think I saw you after the race Saturday when I went up to meet Meghann. Of course I didn’t realize it until later…

    Congrats on the race! Even though it was tough, your time is still pretty impressive; you should be proud of yourself. 🙂

  24. Congratulations!! Be proud of yourself, onto the next race!

  25. CONGRATS!!!! I think you ran a wondwerful race 🙂

  26. […] is Key Posted on October 5, 2010 by MegaNerd After my not so epic race comeback, I was a little bummed.  I spent a few days waffling back and forth between two mindsets: from […]

  27. […] of a failure on the racing front. I’ve only raced twice (the Disney marathon in January and the Miracles Miles 15k in September) and I wasn’t very happy after either race. It’s been a tough year for me […]

Leave a Reply

