Running Shoes are for Skipping

I’ve been meaning to get new running shoes for a while. I finally sucked it up and ordered a new pair. After all, I haven’t actually worn new shoes since…um, Christmas.

 

IMG_0443

 

I know, I know. You’re supposed to change them out every 500 miles, or 3-4 months depending on how much you use them.

 

Being the frugal girl that I am, I hate spending money unless it’s absolutely necessary. Especially to drop $100 on SHOES! However, during this past weekend’s 15k race, my knees began to hurt after only 4.0 miles. I’m talking MAJOR pain. I knew immediately that the old shoes were the culprit. I had felt this exact pain during the Disney marathon and I knew the solution.

 

NEW SHOES! My legs have been begging for these.

 

IMG_0444 

 

I purchased my third pair of Brooks Adrenaline GTS 10. I absolutely LOVE them. I have yet to get one blister from them, and they are one of the few shoes that come in a narrow width. (If I wear regular width my feet blister like crazy.)

 

Today was another looooong day at work. I worked two jobs today, which left no time/energy for running. At least I got to enjoy the fresh air and get paid at the same time! Perhaps I will get a run in tomorrow morning?

 

IMG_0470

 

I found another good use for the shoes: skipping to the park with a four-and-a-half-year-old! (Job #2 = Babysitting a few times a week)

 

IMG_0455

 

We stopped to enjoy the wildlife. She called it “mama kitty.” She always brings a smile to my face. 🙂

 

IMG_0450 

 

It was already dark by the time I got home, and way past my normal dinner hour. I made an easy combo that never fails:

 

IMG_0481

 

Sweet potato + baked beans:

 

IMG_0485

 

Side salad with tomatoes and feta:

 

IMG_0483 

 

Whew. I’m exhausted. Time for sleep!

 

Are you loyal to your favorite running shoe? I used to be an Asics girl, and now I’m all about the Brooks!

 

❤ MegaNerd

28 Responses

  1. Heck yes, I’m loyal to my shoes! Asics 2100 series, all the way.

    You’re a traitor. 😉

  2. I’m an asics girl all the way!! I have ridiculously flat feet and the asics evolution give the BEST support. I’m on my 4th pair. and probably should get a new pair too but, like you, i don’t want to drop the money on it!

  3. So far I’ve been pretty loyal but I think you have to adapt a little as your “needs” change. So far I’ve stuck with Saucony. Your new shoes are cute. 🙂

  4. I have wide feet so I am very partial to my first pair of shoes that fit from day one and never gave me one blister.

  5. Yes, I’m totally loyal to my Brooks Addiction shoes. I’ve had more than a few pairs over the last few years now, and they’re the best. In fact, I thought I needed something different last year and got a pair of Mizunos, but I returned them to the store when I had severe back pain after running a few times in them. They swapped them out for the Brooks! That’s why you should always go to a real running store; they’re all about the right fit. 🙂

  6. What kind of beans do you use? Just canned baked beans? Or do you make them yourself? I find canned beans always have lots of sugar in them and am trying to find something a bit healthier as I really love the potato-bean combination as well! Thanks!

  7. I do not run, but I am fiercely loyal to my favorite swimsuits. Friends can come in go, boyfriends can break up with me, jobs can be impossible to find, but that Speedo is always there!!!

  8. YAAAY for new running shoes !! 😀

  9. yay for new shoes!!!!!

  10. I also used to be an Asics girl and now love my Brooks !

  11. I use to ONLY buy Nikes but my last pair, I broke down and bought a pair of Pumas. I never thought I would stray from what I was use to, but when I tried these out, I just loved them. When it comes to shoes, you have to go with your heart. Looks don’t matter one bit.

  12. The last time I bought shoes, I tried on the Brooks Adrenaline but they didn’t work for me. I have very wide feet and even their wide width felt uncomfortable. I was very loyal to my Saucony Pro Grid Guide 2 but they changed them to Guide 3 which had a strange stitch on the side of the that rubbed my foot in a very annoying manner. I returned those, tried the Brooks and wound up with Asics 2150s which I really like.

    Enjoy your new shoes!

  13. I’m a huge fan of Saucony. I spent a good chunk of time awhile back at the running store working to find just the right shoe and that was it! So much better than my Nikes!

  14. I used to only wear Asics DS trainers, but now I LOVE Mizunos 🙂

  15. I am an Asics GT2150 fan! I’ve had 3 pairs and absolutely love love love them. Plus, Asics is one of the only brands that I’ve found with Women’s size 12! So I don’t need to wear “boy colors” on my feet anymore. Since I’ve switched to the 2150s I haven’t suffered from terrible shin splints!

  16. Power to the narrow-footed people! Amen, sister.

    I’m aware that you are in love with these shoes, but I’ve had a lot of luck using what I’ve been told is called a “runner’s knot” to tie my regular, non-narrow shoes for everyday wear and running. Someone else told me it was called “butterfly lacing.” Who knows what the name is, but if you’re interested, hit me up and I’ll let the secret out. 😛

  17. I am a huge fan of the Brooks Adrenaline! I think I am on my 3rd pair of them!

  18. We are running shoe twins and dinner twin (except my sweet potato had black beans). Great minds…

  19. Nike Citius all the way. I love Nike+ for tracking my runs too!

  20. I think if I used my sneaks more Id be loyal but I buy asics now. Truthfully swimming + yoga are shoe-free activities so I dont change them a lot!

  21. I am totally loyal to my Brooks GTS Adrenaline 10’s too. Love them, love them! 🙂

  22. Hooray for new running shoes!
    Thats all
    🙂

  23. Haha, I used to be an Asics girl too! But now I have Mizanos and they are AMAZING. Love them. 😀

  24. I’m an Asics girl all the way!

  25. I use Asics as my cross-training shoe… so far Saucony has been the best to me for running. I think I’m going to stick with them for a while.

  26. Wowsers, they look beautiful! I myself prefer barefoot running but when it’s cold or something I wear the ole vibrams.

  27. I used to be an asics girl but now switched to mizunos, love those babies.

Leave a Reply

