October Grocery Shopping Trip I

At the start of the October Grocery Challenge, I headed to Publix (grocery store) to stock up on food for the week. (I actually cheated and already went shopping on Wednesday night, knowing I was going to start this challenge.)

 

My first bill came to $35.50.

 

IMG_0487

 

Here’s what I was able to purchase:

 

IMG_0478 IMG_0480

Egg Beaters $ 1.67
Vegetarian Baked Beans $ 1.67
Progresso Soup (BOGO) $ 2.29
Libby Pumpkin (2 cans) $ 3.58
cheddar cheese $ 1.49
mozerella cheese $ 1.49
Baby Carrots (BOGO) $ 1.69
Publix Steam Veggies (3) $ 2.97
Green Grapes $ 3.70
Spinach $ 2.00
Hearts of Romaine $ 2.00
Sweet Potatoes $ 1.89
tomatoes $ 1.61
English muffins $ 1.50
Store Brand Cereal $ 2.45
Frozen pizza $ 5.00
  $ 37.00
   
coupons ($1.50)
   
Total Paid $ 35.50

 

Plus, because I bought mostly sale and buy-one-get-one-free (BOGO) items, I saved $12.68!

IMG_0486

 

My first two meals of the budget-conscious month weren’t too bad! I actually enjoyed both of them.

 

Breakfast was a bowl of store brand honey bunches of oats, or, Almonds and Oats.

 

IMG_0490

 

I topped it with a banana that needed to be used up before going bad.

 

IMG_0491 

 

I was home for lunch today, so I made an english muffin pizza.

 

DSC_0789

 

Along with a bowl of steamed vegetables. 🙂

 

DSC_0790

 

So far, the challenge seems to be going well, but I’ve eaten both meals at home. The REAL challenge will be packing food to eat at work!

 

❤ MegaNerd

14 Responses

  1. I have to get better about sticking to a budget for groceries. That’s the one thing I go really crazy with!

  2. Thanks for sharing your grocery bill! I get really frustrated at how high mine turns out to be just for one person. I don’t know if I’m not being conscious enough about making sure I pick up sale/generic items or if I’m just buying too much for one person. I’m really excited to study your grocery receipts and maybe pick up some new habits!

  3. I failed at sticking to my Sept. budget, but I”m going to try again this month 🙂

  4. I just started a budget this month too! Thanks for sharing about mint.com . It’s such a great tool to help me keep track of where my money goes. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one that has trouble budgeting.

  5. Random but — Wow! I am so jealous as to how cheap cheese is down there! No word of a lie, a bag of shredded cheese that size up here would be $6-$7!

  6. Wow! You got a lot for $35! I need to make an english muffin pizza asap I haven’t had one in years!

  7. Good luck with your grocery challenge! I spend way too much money on groceries for my family of three.

  8. You managed a lot of food for only 35 dollars. Congrats! Packing for work is the WORST. I had to start storing peanut butter in my classroom so that I would have something to eat.

  9. Wow, i’d call that a successfull trip!!
    It’s so hard to pack interesting meals for work!

  10. It’s funny that you’re doing this grocery challenge because three weeks ago my husband and I figured out we were hemorrhaging money because of food! So two Sunday’s ago we bought groceries and vowed to make them last two weeks and we did. We only bought one dinner & one breakfast out so I think we did good!

    You don’t realize it until you see it in numbers 😦

    Good luck, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

