Italian Wedding Soup

Tonight’s Dinner Creation: Italian Wedding Soup!

 

DSC_0839

 

I found myself with some spare time this weekend, and decided to try a new recipe. I had to make a quick grocery trip to buy a few items, which I was sure to work into the Grocery budget challenge.

 

 DSC_0813 

 

Cost Breakdown:

 

Publix Orzo Pasta $ 1.19
Organic Veggie Broth $ 2.99
Can of veggie broth $ 0.99
Kraft Macaroni $ 1.83
Kraft Macaroni $ 1.83
Potato $ 1.08
1/2 lb Lean Ground Beef $ 2.42
  $ 12.33
   
Coupons $ (2.00)
   
Total Paid $ 10.33
   
My Half Paid: $ 5.00

 

I chipped in $5.00 for our meal (Mark and I split the bill), bringing my October Grocery Bill Total to $40.50. I pay for all my own food separately anyways, so the challenge works out.

 

A great money-saving tip I learned was to ask the grocer to break packages for you. My Publix packages Lean ground beef standard in 1.3 lb average sized packages, which cost about $6. I only needed a half pound, and probably won’t be using the rest before it goes bad. I asked him to break it up for me, and he did with no problem!

 

DSC_0816

 

Instead of paying $6, and wondering what I could do with the rest of the meat, I paid less than $2.50! Amazing!

 

DSC_0817

 

Once I returned from the grocery store, I gathered up the ingredients needed for our soup:

 

DSC_0814 

 

First, I lightly beat an egg in a medium mixing bowl.

 

DSC_0818

 

I then added about 2 Tablespoons of Italian bread crumbs, a dash of garlic salt, and some pepper.

 

DSC_0820

 

I then mixed in the meat until it was all covered in herbs.

 

DSC_0822

 

Mark used a teaspoon to scoop out mini-meatballs.

 

DSC_0825 DSC_0826

 

Meanwhile, I boiled nearly 6 cups of vegetable broth. I suppose chicken broth would have worked, but Mark and I both prefer vegetable broth based soups.

 

DSC_0829

 

Once the broth began to boil, I dumped in three (3) cups of spinach, chopped carrots, and one (1) cup of Orzo pasta.

DSC_0827DSC_0830  

 

Mark browned the meatballs in a frying pan before adding them to our soup. We let it all boil for ten minutes, long enough for the orzo pasta to completely cook.

 

DSC_0834

 

After it simmered, we served, and enjoyed!

 

DSC_0835

 

This puts the canned stuff to shame!

 

DSC_0836

 

The recipe made about four (4) bowls worth of soup, but Mark managed to eat three of them and a baked potato. Somehow he remains thin and doesn’t go broke feeding himself. Oh, boys.

 

DSC_0841

 

Off to a wedding in Italy! I mean… to bed. Goodnight!

 

❤ MegaNerd

11 Responses

  1. I didn’t know you can break up the meat packages like that! Thanks for that tip!

  2. Looks yummy pal!!

  3. Boys and their metabolisms… so unfair.

    Great tip, I agree!

  4. I love Italian wedding soup, yet I’ve never thought of making it at home…looks delicious!

  5. That’s one of my favorite soups 🙂 Another good one you might like is Tiny Turkey Meatball (from The Biggest Loser, you can Google the recipe) – it’s sooo easy. Just ground turkey, a bag of frozen broccoli, a can of chickpeas, a bottle of marinara, and a carton of veggie stock with a few spices. Super easy weeknight dinner and very filling – I need to try it with veggie meatballs!

  6. You should be on Robin Miller’s show! This soup looks great! 🙂

  7. I love Italian Wedding soup!! I like how you ended it with off to a wedding in Italy! Have a nice day!

  8. i havent seen this soup made in AGES!!! wow this brings back some amazing memories! i can almost, just almost, smell your soup through my monitor!! 😛

    xoxo

  9. Somehow he remains thin and doesn’t go broke feeding himself. Oh, boys.

    ^LOL 😀

    • You know you eat like you’re still in high school. I don’t know where you put it all!!!

      I don’t mind feeding you…. but you’re throwing off my grocery budget challenge! LOL.

      😛

  10. Thanks for the recipe! I made this tonight. Used chicken stock and made a few modifications based on what I had. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

