The Ladder

On the schedule for this morning was an Interval workout! It’s been a long time since I did a tough workout like this one. I was challenged mentally and physically, but felt so accomplished when it was all over.

 

 IMG_0569

 

I basically did a ladder workout. I warmed up for 1.0 mile at an easy, comfortable pace, and then started the interval training: 400m, 600m, 800m, 1200m, 800m, 600m, 400m. My goal was to run each interval at around an 8:00 min/mile pace. Each speed interval was separated by a 400m Recovery Interval (RI). I allowed myself to walk some during the rest interval. 

 

Here’s what the Garmin Forerunner 305 had to say about the workout:

image 

 

The total run came to 6.0 miles, which is probably the longest speed session I have ever completed to date.

 

IMG_0570

 

After each interval, I was more than a little excited to get a chance to walk. This workout was TOUGH and I was tempted to give up on more than one occasion. But, I got through it! 🙂

 

I had to keep reminding myself that tough workouts will only make me a stronger runner. If I only ever did easy runs, I would never improve.

 

One thing I forgot about hard workouts: they make you HUNGRY!

 

Even though I had a full breakfast (Kashi heart to heart cereal, milk, whole banana, large scoop of PB) an hour before my workout, my stomach was growling by 10:00am as if I hadn’t fed it in days! I solved that problem with an everything bagel+veggie cream cheese. I couldn’t even wait to take the pic, so I already started nibbling.

 

IMG_0579

 

I’ve been eating up a storm all day! I had an 3 egg+cheese+green pepper burrito for lunch, along with kiwi and raspberries.

 

DSC_0987

 

I decided shortly thereafter, I wanted more.

 

IMG_0582

 

And the eating continues…

 

DSC_0946

 

Interval workouts make me WAY more hungry than the same distance workout at a steady, comfortable speed. Holy cow.

 

 

❤ MegaNerd

20 Responses

  1. Looks like you had a great run! Running always makes me very hungry, but usually it doesn’t catch up with me until the day after.

  2. Way to rock the speed workout!! Great job! :o)

  3. When I rev up my workouts and running mileage, my appetite follows suit. I can’t seem to get enough either.

    Nice work with your intervals. 🙂

  4. I love ladder workouts and bagels are the best post-workout fuel!

  5. Did you program your garmin before the run? If so, I’d love instructions! I can’t even figure out how to get the clock on my screen…

  6. I get the same hunger whenever I do a serious strength workout. It’s odd because I don’t burn nearly as many calories but I guess it just sparks a different cord in my metabolism.
    Great run girl! 🙂

  7. Awesome run!! I am usually hungry after runs, but it takes me about an hour for the hunger monster to really rear it’s head. But it’s worth it–after run eats always taste soo good!

  8. great speedwork!! 😀 All that food looks yummy!

  9. Good job girl! And it’s CRAZY how intense workouts will turn you into the hunger monster!

  10. Yeah- workout’s = bottomless pit!

  11. Great job on the workout!!

    Everything bagels with veggie cream cheese are one of my favorites too 🙂

  12. Nice work out! I love interval work outs. I try to do them often because they make me feel so accomplished.

  13. I love interval workouts because I feel like I can get a really good workout in a really short amount of time. It’s simultaneously lazy and not lazy.

  14. This looks like an AWESOME workout!!!!!

  15. Sometimes it seems like I can never eat enough. And when I have a really tough workout, it’s even worse. You ate really well though and fueled your body well. Great job on the workout!

  16. Great workout! I should do more interval training. I’m wondering, do you use the software from Garmin or something different to track your runs? I got the forerunner 305 last week and I’m excited to play with it.

  17. That’s an awesome run! You kept right on pace with your intervals and I see that you even surpassed your pace on some of them! I have a love hate relationship with intervals. I love to hate the work out 🙂

Leave a Reply

