Ten, Again

I did it again! Another 10.0 miler on my sneakers.

 

DSC_1043

 

I have exactly four weeks left to train for the St. Pete Women’s Half Marathon. I feel like I could run a decent half marathon next weekend, honestly. My legs have been feeling great, and so far I haven’t had any problems.

 

This is my second 10.0 mile training run this season. I improved my average pace by 11 seconds per mile on this run. I can’t say it was all me, though. I had Kelly pushing me through miles 3-9!

 

image

 

Mile splits:

  • Mile 1: 10:04
  • Mile 2: 9:43
  • Mile 3: 9:42
  • Mile 4: 9:29
  • Mile 5: 9:20
  • Mile 6: 9:20
  • Mile 7: 9:22
  • Mile 8: 9:21
  • Mile 9: 9:13
  • Mile 10: 8:45 <—just wanted to finish after Kelly left!

 

Negative splits, once again! 🙂

 

Total: 10.0 miles

Average pace: 9:27 min/mile

 

It’s crazy how fast I have been improving since coming back to running a few months ago. Two months ago, I struggled to maintain an 11:00 min/mile pace for a  7.0 mile run. Yesterday, I was able to comfortably run 10.0 miles in under 9:30 min/mile pace.

 

It just goes to show that if you really put in the effort, you can gain back your fitness post-injury. I went from struggling through 2.0 mile runs this summer, back to running 10.0 miles. I gave my body the months of rest it needed and am coming back strong.

 

 

After my run, I re-fueled with the world’s greatest breakfast:

 

IMG_0604 

  • Banana
  • Kashi Heart 2 Heart cereal
  • Scoop of Natural PB
  • Organic skim milk

 

I will never get sick of this. Never, ever.

 

❤ MegaNerd

14 Responses

  1. You look great! Really strong. Good for you! I used to eat H2H every day in college but alas, I eventually got sick of it.

  2. I really needed to read this today. I ran my first marathon on 10.10.10 in Portland and really injured my right foot. I have only ran once since the marathon and it was excruciatingly painful for me. Looks like I won’t be running for at least a month, maybe longer.

    It sucks, and I feel like all the hardwork I put in for the marathon is wasted now and I’m losing all my fitness. I just need to remind myself that eventually I will get my fitness back and I will run and train again!!!

    • Congrats on your first marathon! 🙂

      If you are in pain, DON’T RUN! It is not worth it. You could risk more injury!

      In the end, you can always get back to where you were. Listen to your body if it needs the time off. It’s hard, but so worth it in the long run.

  3. I am so happy you have your running mojo back – I knew it would come back for you!

  4. Congrats on another 10 miles. Glad to hear you’re feeling strong.

  5. Congrats girl!!!! You will rock this upcoming half marathon I just know it!!

  6. Woo-hoo!! Great job, Megan!! That is awesome :o)

  7. Good for you! My running is slowly improving after a hiatus too! It’s amazing how quickly the body can bounce back.

  8. I had a great time running with you and catching up! We should run again soon! Just wanted to let you know that you were kicking some a$$ on that run! You did great! I can’t wait to read about your half marathon.

    PS Love the darker hair btw.

  9. Wow!!! This is so awesome Megan! You are doing so amazing with this plan and I know you’ll kick this 1/2 marathon’s a$$! Good for you for being so dedicated, the effort is really paying off.

  10. Great job on your speedy fast paces! You are really kicking butt! I love the feeling of getting a progressively awesome paces! Good luck with your race! 🙂

  11. Congrats on your pace! That’s so inspiring.

  12. Way to work it sister! So glad you’re enjoying it because that’s what really matters. I love hearing about your runs and it makes me itch to run more!

Leave a Reply

