Fall Back

Did you remember to set your clocks back an hour last night? Luckily, my iPhone changed times automatically, so I didn’t have to fuss with it. 🙂

 

I started last night’s dinner with two glasses of red wine. Wining and dining is pretty much a guarantee when getting together with my mom’s side of the family. What can I say, we just like to enjoy the little things in life!

DSC_1239

There was a big discussion of reds vs. whites. I would say 9 times out of 10, I prefer white. I determined that reds are better in cold weather months (aka, January in Florida) and whites are better in summer months.

 

When we tried to figure out something to prepare for dinner, we went through a bunch of decision making steps. We wanted something: 

  • seasonal
  • large enough to feed everyone
  • delicious
  • out-of-the-ordinary (aka, NOT spaghetti!)
  • healthy

Which lead us to…

DSC_1250

BAKED PUMPKIN PENNE!

My mom saw it featured on my blog a few weeks ago, and had been dying to try it. We changed a few things around, like adding more water to the sauce, used less curry, and more salt.

DSC_1242

Turns out, it was a hit!

 DSC_1263    

Along with pumpkin penne, we had a lovely spinach salad with poppyseed dressing.

DSC_1254

In the mix we included:

  • spinach
  • honeycrisp apples
  • craisins
  • pecans

 DSC_1257

I had a plateful… and went back for seconds, thirds, and fourths. Yes, fourths.

DSC_1258

Even my picky sister, Brielle, enjoyed it! 🙂

DSC_1260  

For dessert, my mom made homemade peach cobbler. It was a very basic recipe that I will have to steal from her.

 

It was warm and goey, topped with a cold scoop of ice cream. Heavenly!

DSC_1272

 

I really enjoy eating seasonally, especially in fall! I LOVE pumpkin, squash, cinnamon, sage, honeycrisp apples, warm pies, and hot chocolate.

 

Swoon! So excited, Thanksgiving is around the corner!

 

What is your favorite season of eating?

 

❤ MegaNerd

15 Responses

  1. Fall is all about good food — it’s so warm and comforting to eat a big meal on a cool autumn day.

  2. I like Fall foods. Sweet potatoes, apple crisps, roasted cauliflower….now I’m excited for Thanksgiving haha.

  3. Oh man thanks for the time reminder… it’s really 5:30 not 6:30! Who gets up this early on a Sunday?

  4. Your pumpkin penne looks amazing! Fall is definitely my favorite season of eating!

  5. That reminds me of this pumpkin pasta I made last winter.. might have to break that out again!

  6. I love sleeping in! Have a fab time with your fam!

  7. I think Fall is my favorite season of eating too!! Apples, Squash, Pumpkin, Cinnamon…but then again I get SO excited when fresh berries come back!

  8. Yum, I’ve been dying to try that pumpkin penne too! Someday soon, it has to happen 🙂

    I love summer and fall food–the fresh fruit in summer is irresistible and the comfort foods in fall are so cozy.

  9. oh yummo!
    I cant decide which season I like best for eating! I love the rich comforting meals we have during winter – but at the same time I love the BBQs and salads we have in summer!

  10. It’s tough to top summertime veggies straight out of your own garden!

  11. Yup, this is definitely my fave season for eating! But the summer fruits like strawberries and raspberries and stuff ARE delicious. Still, can’t top the sweet potato+apple+cinnamon+squash+pumpkin!! 😀

  12. We don’t set our clocks back here, isn’t that weird? Oh Chinese uniformity, lol.

    And I’m with you about fall: I LOVE pumpkin, crisp appples, etc. Each season has its perks but fall is definitely most defined and awesome. And PS, thanks so much for all your support with the race! I swear if it weren’t for Debbie and blogs–primarily yours–I wouldn’t have started running to begin with!

  13. I think that summer is my favorite season of eating, just because there’s so much cheap and delicious produce. Early winter is pretty good too though- I’m talking Christmassy food like cookies and peppermint bark 🙂

  14. Lol, Thanksgiving and Christmas for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

