Sunday Science Experiment

Less than one week until half-marathon day! I’m getting so excited!

 

I had a little extra time before heading to work on Sunday morning, and decided to squeeze in another 8.0 mile run before heading to babysit. I thought my last long run before the half would have been on Friday with Kelly, but the weekends just don’t feel complete without a long run anymore!

DSC_1378

I completed another 8.0 miler at my favorite park, before heading to Einstein Bagel for some post-run grub.

DSC_1380

I had a superfood odwalla and an everything bagel with veggie cream cheese to top off the tanks. I headed to the gym to shower (yes, JUST to shower. Don’t judge me…) and headed off to work.

 

When I say I headed to work, I should have mentioned that I got to spend the day with a pretty cool four-year old. We started our adventures at one of my favorite local spots: Infusion Tea.

DSC_1387

I had my usual half roasted pears salad

DSC_1384

…with a new (to me) sandwich!

DSC_1381

I’m not sure of the exact name of this, but I’m going to call it crunchy fruit sandwich X-treme. Why the EXTREME you ask? Because it was extremely messy to eat… but extremely delicious at the same time. I felt like I was eating a child’s science experiment. Almond butter dripped all over my fingers as I brought the amazing strawberry-banana-granola stuffed between two fluffy pieces of bread to my mouth.

 

Holy-freaking-yum. So simple. Why didn’t I think of that?! This is a must re-create at home.

 

Whew, that took a lot out of me. 🙂

 

We continued our lovely science experiment at the Orlando Science Center.

image 

We explored the depths of the ocean…

DSC_1400

…met T-rex…

DSC_1405

…dug for fossils…

DSC_1409

…create “to scale” planets out of foam…

DSC_1413

…learned some environmental tid-bits…

DSC_1416     

…and learned about the human body!

DSC_1415

Go, science! I’m getting sleepy… off to hit the hay!

 

Are you a science geek like me? 😀

 

❤ MegaNerd

10 Responses

  1. I always go to the gym just to shower after my runs, the girls at the front desk have gotten used to me on Mon/Wed and some Saturdays if I have to go to work. This week I had to go to a different one and got there when they opened, weird looks were given when I left!

  2. That sandwich sounds incredible!!! Gosh, Infusion Tea seems like such a fantastic place.

  3. I love science museums. I’m definitely not a math/science person, but I still love going to the DC smithsonians.

  4. I’m a total science dork. I just found out the Bodies exhibit is coming to where I live and I reallllly wanna go even though I already saw it in DC 😉

  5. That sandwich looks awesome! I’m totally trying it at home!

  6. That’s so fun! I love going to science museums 🙂 I wish I had one close enough to me to go for the day.

  7. looks like a fun day! 😀

  8. I love the Orlando Science Center! We went there in college during my graduate program and even though it has been years since I’ve gone it was one of my favorite places that we visited.

    Good luck on Sunday! I think it’s going to be a beautiful run!

Leave a Reply

