Tastebud Tour of Chicago

Huge thanks to Arnold and Orowheat sponsors for organizing an awesome food tour of Chicago!

 

DSC_0427

 

I had no idea what exactly we would be tasting on the food tour, but it didn’t matter! I was excited to experience true-Chicago food.

 

DSC_0405

 

The company actually on started a few months ago, back in May. Lynn (the owner) was laid off from his job and after searching for something new, realized that his passion was to give the people (and visitors) of Chicago a way to truly experience the city! What better way to experience a new city than to try it’s food?

 

Our tour guide, John, and owner, Lynn:

 

 

Our first stop on the tour was Berghoff. I was SO looking forward to drinking a beer.

 

DSC_0372

 

Too bad it was my least favorite thing ever created on earth, ROOT BEER. I tried it again for the first time in over 6 years. Still as repulsive as ever.

 

DSC_0376

 

At least the company was pleasant. 😀

 

DSC_0365

 

We were served a mini bratwurst and potatoes. I had never had it before so I tried it! I liked the potatoes, but not the bratwurst.

 

DSC_0373

 

A round of Washington Apples for everyone, please!

   DSC_0386 DSC_0385

 

Next stop was at a famous hotel that I cannot remember the name of to save my life. I do remember the guide saying that after the hotel burnt down in the fire, they rebuilt the exact same model. They were able to do so because the architect buried the plans underground so they wouldn’t be destroyed.

 

DSC_0394

 

In the meantime, the architect’s wife was busy inventing the recipe for brownies. An amazing architect married to the inventor of brownies!!? I think I was born into the wrong family! 😉

 

DSC_0396

 

Possibly one of the best brownies that has ever passed my lips. This is saying a LOT coming from a brownie lover!

 

We learned a ton more Chicago trivia such as why there are random cow statues all over the city.

 

DSC_0399

 

Next stop was an underground mall where we stopped for popcorn!

 

DSC_0403

 

We had the “Chicago mix” which was an odd combination of caramel and cheezee.

 DSC_0400

DSC_0401

 

Odd. But interesting!

 

Next Stop: Chicago-style hot dog. Ketchup is a crime.

 

DSC_0408

 

The final stop was at the famous Billy Goat Tavern.

 

DSC_0422 DSC_0424

 

We got to wear crazy hats, and hear the fun stories of how “Billy Goat” came to be. You will have to go on the tour to find out!

 

DSC_0425

 

I was not hungry by this point, but managed to fit in a few bites of the cheezborger (cheeseburger). It was nothing special, honestly, but the atmosphere was unforgettable!

 

DSC_0430

 

Heather bought us all a house beer, which was just what I was craving!

 

DSC_0433  

 

Group picture:

 

DSC_0438 

 

I’m pretty sure we walked about 1.5 or so miles through the city.

 

DSC_0412 DSC_0411

 

I really enjoyed the tour because it was a great way to see the city by foot, learn some trivia and fun facts that I wouldn’t have known otherwise, and to taste some great food! Granted, the tour was definately meat-heavy, but that was kind of to be expected.

 

DSC_0416

 

Quick outfit change later and we were back on the town. We had plenty of fun, and I will leave it at that. 😀

 

 

Have you ever done a food tour of a city? If so, what city? 

 

❤ MegaNerd