Pancake Truffles

This morning’s breakfast was epic. Seriously.

 

DSC_0108

 

I could get used to waking up at Caitlin’s house. She made me a cup of coffee and a slice of PB Toast shortly after I woke up.

 

DSC_0107 DSC_0101

 

We headed out on a beautiful 4.5 mile run before showering and packing up for the airport. I wish I would have had my camera during our run, the scenery was so pretty! I have missed my running buddy so much and it was nice to run with her again! (The hills were killer, though.)

 

Caitlin’s “Mission to get MegaNerd to move to Charlotte” is underway!GAH!

 

I have been begging Caitlin to make me her special Pancake truffle recipe ever since she last created it. Lucky for me, she did!

  DSC_0109

 

Holy. Freaking. Yum. I seriously felt like I was eating dessert for breakfast!

 

DSC_0112 

 

Folks, these are not low-calorie. She basically rolled up a piece of banana in a mixture of pancake batter, oatmeal, and almond milk. Then, she rolled the ball around in some crushed cinnamon almonds.

DSC_0110

 

I told Caitlin in my official review: “You should take this recipe off the Internet and sell it.  Open a breakfast joint called CaitlinPancake and just sell variations of pancakes and pancake truffles.”

 

We are now currently sitting next to our gate at the Charlotte airport. I picked up a brown rice California roll for lunch.

 

DSC_0114

 

It was the perfect pre-flight meal since it was pretty light!

 

DSC_0115

 

We then stopped at Yovana for some yogurt. I wanted something on the healthier side, so I got a plain vanilla with fresh raspberries.

 

DSC_0117

 

Time to board the plane! Chicago, here we come!

 

😀

 

❤ MegaNerd

Charlotte (CasaHTP)

I have only been in Charlotte for one day and Caitlin is already trying to convince me to move here. 😀

 

We had some time to kill before we headed out for our blogger meetup, so Caitlin took me and my mom to Trader Joes, and showed me around uptown Charlotte.

 

Once we got back, we sat on her porch and split a pear cider.

 

IMG_0001

 

Along with some Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Almonds, which are SO good!

 

IMG_0002

 

Not too much later, we met a lovely group of Charlotte bloggers and readers for dinner!

 

IMG_0014

 

We met at Luna’s Living Kitchen, a vegan and mostly raw restaurant.

 

DSC_0088

 

I ordered the Sprouted Quinoa-Kamut Veggie Burger along with 90% of the other bloggers at the table.

 

DSC_0080

 

I honestly had NO idea what to expect, but the “burger” was delicious! I am scared of “raw” food, but it reminded me of falafel.

 

The sprouted grain bread was topped with hummus, tomato, the burger, guacamole, and onion.

 

DSC_0083

 

It also came with a fresh salad that included greens, tomato, raspberry, sprouts, and orange. YUM!

  DSC_0082

 

I ordered the fresh homemade ginger ale, made with club soda, agave nectar and fresh ginger. It was SO gingery! I had to mix half with plain club soda. Otherwise it was good!

 

DSC_0086

 

After dinner, we headed over to a pub for some brew.

 

DSC_0090

DSC_0092

 

When Caitlin and I get together, there will definitely be box-facing involved.

 

DSC_0093  

 

The fun didn’t stop here! We headed to yoforia aka HEAVEN!

 

DSC_0094

 

Somehow, even though I wasn’t hungry, I made room for frozen yogurt.

 

DSC_0097 

 

That is true dedication right there.

 

So far, Charlotte seems like an awesome place to be! Only one hour from my mom’s house, Caitlin lives here, and I already have new friends! Oh, the possiblities…

 

Time to get moving! We are off to run and then leaving for Chicago.

 

❤ MegaNerd