Running is SO 2009.

I am starting to really love biking!

 

IMG_0429

 

I really haven’t run more than a handful of times since the marathon in January, and I actually am pretty okay with it. I miss it, but not too much. Biking is the new thing; Running is SO 2009. ;) 

 

This is my third bike ride of the week! I biked 7.5 miles on Wednesday night, and another 15 miles with Caitlin on Thursday.

 

I debated riding the usual route near my apartment for time saving sake  (I have TONS of schoolwork that needs to be done) or heading to a trail. The trail is 25-30 minutes away, and involves packing up the bikes, driving, etc. However, it is a weekend and I wanted to feel like I was doing something fun and not just exercising to burn calories. Yuck!

 

IMG_0431

 

Heading to the Seminole-Wekiva trail was a wise decision. The change in scenery was nice, and the weather was perfect. The shade helped kill some of the wind that we’ve been having, and it made for an amazing ride!

 

IMG_0419

 

I brought along my favorite biking buddy, Mark. (Is this an ad for something!?)

 

IMG_0411

 

We had fun looking at the cows…

 

IMG_0418

 

…and just being outside on such a gorgeous day!

 

IMG_0420  

 

The entire trail is 14.0 miles each way, but we turned around after 8.0 miles because my stomach was growling. Lame!

 

We took a break and split a packet of Sharkies, but I don’t think it did anything…

 

IMG_0413

 

We still ended up riding 16.0 miles. Our average speed was around 13 mph, but we kept doing sprints (racing each other) and at one point got the bikes to 27 mph!

 

Once we got to the car, I tried to eat half of this Koka Moka PRO BAR

 

IMG_0409  

 

…but I HATED it. It tasted like a Brownie CLIF bar dunked in stale coffee. I was sad, I thought I would like it!

 

Side Note: Mark says I take WAY too many pictures of him while biking… I can’t help it!!!

 

IMG_0425IMG_0426

IMG_0427IMG_0428 

 

As I got closer, Mark says, “Ok, come on, Meg… give me the camera. I think there are plenty of pictures of me with this helmet on already.” EPIC!

 

IMG_0424

 

It was quite amusing.

 

We picked up Publix subs on our way home. I usually get the exact same thing, but I switched it up this time:

 

IMG_0435

  • Ham
  • Cheddar cheese
  • honey mustard
  • tomato
  • lettuce
  • green peppers
  • onion

 

It was pretty good! I saved the other half for later in the week. It’s cheaper to get a whole than a half…

 

We also got a fresh pineapple! I had no idea how to cut it, so I let Mark do it.

 

IMG_0442

 

I ate most of it… oops.

 

IMG_0443 

 

I’m off to get ready for a blogger meet-up! I can’t wait!

 

Do you prefer to bike/walk/run on trails? How far are you willing to drive to get there?

 

❤ MegaNerd