Cornbread and Chili

Fall is in the air! Even if it looks the same outside, it sure feels nice! Today’s high was around 82, but this morning was around 68 degrees.

 

DSC_0859

 

I’m currently living with my co-worker and her family until I figure out where I’m going next in life. She and her family are wonderful for letting me stay with them, and I try to help out around the house as much as possible. One of the things I do is purchase ingredients and cook a meal for the family once a week.

 

This week, I chose chili!

 

DSC_0881

 

I stopped at the store on the way home from work to pick up necessary chili items. I didn’t include these into my grocery budget challenge because I am feeding a family of four. Since I did include myself in dinner, I am adding one-third of the cost of the chili into my budget since I am consuming two meals (one tonight, and one leftover portion.)

 

DSC_0864

 

Publix Kidney Beans $0.75
Diced Tomatoes $1.49
Tomato Sauce (2) $0.80
Corn Muffin Mix $0.45
Chili Seasoning $0.79
Ground Turkey Breast $6.44
   
Total Paid $10.72
Added to "Grocery Budget" $3.57

 

(The remainder of the money is budgeted into “rent” category.)

 

Because I don’t actually like going to the grocery store every single day, I went ahead and got enough to make more meals this week. Let’s hope that this stuff will be enough to last a little while.

 

DSC_0865

 

Kraft Shredded Cheese $2.00
Organic Apples $5.49
Green Bell Pepper $1.44
Red Bell Pepper $1.68
Sweet onion $0.85
Bananas $0.60
Mission Tortillas (BOGO) $2.59
   
Total Paid $14.65

 

My total October grocery bill is already at $58.72, and it’s only four days into the month! YIKES! This challenge is way harder than I thought it would be.

 

I used the basic recipe on the back of the Publix Chili packet to make this meal. It probably could have been cheaper had I used individual spices (if I already had them) and if I would have used cheaper meat.

 

DSC_0872

 

Along with the chili, I made honey-cornbread muffins. I mixed up the packet according to the directions, but added an extra tablespoon of butter, and about two tablespoons of honey. They were a perfect balance of moist and sweet.

 

DSC_0875 

 

A delicious meal for a family of four… plus, me!

 

DSC_0878

 

I was starving by the time dinner was ready, so I had some of each. We ate our dinner with the windows rolled down so the breeze could come in. It feels so nice outside!

 

DSC_0879

 

I heart all things fall. Including fall food. Chili, anything pumpkin, fall squashes, you name it.

 

My dream is to move somewhere (soon, hopefully) with actual seasons. I want to see leaves change, snow fall, and be happy when summer finally returns. Florida is nice and all, but I’m ready for a change! I have my eyes on Washington, DC… we will just have to wait and see!

 

❤ MegaNerd