Soup Obsession

This afternoon I met up with Caitlin for a walk!

 

I haven’t seen my running buddy since last year (!!) and we needed to catch up! We walked about 2.5 miles, which seemed like it took forever! Running is so much faster!

 

IMG_1331

 

She brought James along for the walk, and he seemed to really enjoy it.

 

IMG_1330

 

I had some errands to run, and stopped at Starbucks for a Vanilla Rooibos Tea Latte to warm me up. Does anyone else think it smells like an apple pie?

 

IMG_1334

 

Dinner was ready and waiting when I got home. I prepped the Ham and White bean soup earlier, and let it simmer most of the day.

 

DSC_0891

 

I used my mom’s very own recipe. I used to call it Thanksgiving soup, because for some reason it reminds me of the holidays.

 

Basically, you soften half an onion, 3 carrots, and 3 stalks celery in some olive oil.

 

DSC_0884

 

Then, you add 48 oz. of Chicken broth and 3 cans of drained great northern beans.

DSC_0887

 

I also tossed in some ground white pepper and garlic salt.

 

Next, I chopped up a very large sweet potato into small cubes. I threw that in and let it boil down to mushiness.

 

DSC_0888

 

I then added about 3/4 lb of cubed, cooked ham and a couple of sage leaves.

 

Wa-la! It was done, and fabulous! 😀

 

DSC_0889

 

I think I’m obsessed with homemade soup. I LOVE THEM ALL.

 

❤ MegaNerd

Will YOU be there!?

I’m sort of in a super excited state right now. Like pre-race jitters… but way too early.

 

This morning, I tried to calmly eat my strawberry shortcake oatmeal. I wolfed it down. (oatmeal, brown sugar, graham cracker, strawberries, and plain oikos.)

 

DSC_0881

 

Followed by two chocolate chip cookies. (!?!?!)

 

I figured out that negative stress causes me to lose my appetite. Being overly happy and excited makes me crave sugar. Interesting.

 

In attempt to balance the cookies, I made a huge, healthy salad for lunch. This bowl is bigger than my head.

 

DSC_0894

 

The bowl of veggies included:

  • spring mix
  • spinach
  • red pepper
  • broccoli
  • sugar snap peas
  • avocado
  • 1/2 can white beans
  • carrot

 

Delish.

 

DSC_0896

 

I feel like there are so many people running the Disney marathon that I’m not aware of.

 

Are you running the Disney half or full marathon this weekend? Will YOU be there?

 

❤ MegaNerd