Eyes Bigger Than My Stomach

It’s been a great Friday!

I started the day out with an awesome 13.1 mile run, and the rest of the day has been just as hot fun.

Jason’s work schedule has been so weird lately, so when he called me to meet him for lunch, I jumped at the opportunity to see him in the middle of the day! Even though we live together, I honestly only see him for like 20 minutes a day. He’s already sleeping when I get home from school, and I’m asleep when he leaves for work. It’s lame.

Anyways… we met at Quizno’s for some sub-alicious food. I ordered the best sub ever, the regular sized Tuscan Turkey.

IMG_0702

It’s got:

  • Rosemary Parmesan bread
  • turkey
  • cheese
  • tomato
  • lettuce
  • roasted red pepper sauce
  • onion

Did you know they took this off the menu?! GASP!!!!! How will I live?

IMG_0703

I barely got any school work done today! I had plans to meet my friend for tea, so I ate a light snack before I left:

IMG_0704

I’ve heard so many great things about Infusion Tea in Orlando, that I knew I had to try it out for myself! I can’t believe that I’ve been in this city for five years, and there is still so much I have not done!

IMG_0709

I brought my school work to study for a couple hours before my friend, Keri arrived. I smelled a bunch of the sample teas before finally choosing one.

IMG_0705

I finally decided on an herbal iced tea, the Citrus Sunset!

IMG_0707 

I also had a new (to me) CLIF bar, a MOJO Trail Mix bar. Umm… peanut butter pretzel? This was the ultimate snack!!

IMG_0710

Once Keri finally arrived, I ordered a hot Roobios Monk’s blend tea.

IMG_0714

The girl working there brought it out like this, with a timer based on how strong I wanted my tea brewed!

IMG_0712

The environment in Infusion Tea was so quiet and peaceful. It’s so hard for me to study at most coffee shops, because everything seems so fast paced must-have-coffee-now! It was a lovely afternoon of catching up with my friend!

IMG_0721

Keri and I then headed downtown to meet Jason for dinner!

IMG_0722

Keri has been Jason’s friend since high school. I used to think of her as Jason’s friend, but she is now my friend, too! Jason thinks I’m stealing her!

She’s super fun to hang out with, down to earth, likes to run, and eat awesome food. She lives in Washington, D.C. and needs running friends! Anyone out there?

I feel like a friend matchmaker lately.

We headed out for some sushi. I obviously had bigger eyes than a stomach, because THIS is what came to me…

IMG_0715

The hugest plate of sushi EVER!!!!!

It was awful…

IMG_0718

Just kidding, I couldn’t finish ALL of it…

IMG_0719

I have had a great Friday, with the exception of a ticket that was on my car when I came out of sushi. Ugh… lame expired tags!!

Oh well, it’s been an AWESOME day otherwise! Not going to let one silly thing ruin my day. It’s 10:15 pm, and I can’t WAIT to go to bed! I’ve been up since 5:00 am, and I’m pooped! I’m such an old fart.

❤ MegaNerd

Friday the 13.1

I ran a half marathon this morning!

This is the farthest I have run since December 2008 😀

image

I started my morning with a 5:00 am wake-up call, and a half a bagel with PB.

IMG_0684

I met with Caitlin at 5:30 am to get our long runs in. She had 16.0 miles on the schedule, and I had 12.0. We figured running the first 12 together would make things go by faster!

image

(fake running, LOL)

Miles 0.0 thru 7.0 were run in the dark!

I made the mistake last time I ran 12.0 miles of waiting until after 10.0 miles to eat something. This time, I ate BEFORE I felt like I needed it, around 6.0, 8.5, and 11.0.

I tried these black cherry CLIF shot bloks which I really liked! The had caffeine in there which I think really helped!

IMG_0694

Caitlin and I took about 4 mini breaks. We walked for a few seconds, Caitlin once had to tie her shoes, to stretch, etc. It’s okay to walk, stretch, whatever! I’m all about doing what feels best on long runs.

I had 12.0 miles on the marathon training plan, but I was feeling great! I decided to go ahead and run 13.1! I didn’t feel bad about running extra, because before my mini-shin-injury, 13 miles were on the schedule for this week.

I’m not sure how long it took to run 13.1 miles, because my Garmin got messed up (I talk about it in video 2). I’m guessing around 2:16:00!!

VLOGS

I have two vlogs for you!!!

1st Vlog: Caitlin stops to change her socks, and I get bored. Check out how sweaty we are!!! It’s 86 degrees at 7:00 am!!!

 

2nd Vlog: My thoughts after 13.1 miles.

I’m now home and blogging! 😀

 

When I first got home, my tummy wasn’t feeling BAD but I wasn’t hungry either. Chocolate milk was just what I was craving! It has plenty of protein (1.5 cups homemade chocolate milk = 165 calories,13g protein, and 23g sugar/carbs!) It’s a great recovery drink!

 

This is my “I’m so excited to drink chocolate milk!” face. LOL.

IMG_0691

After my shower, loading videos, etc. I finally got hungry at 10:15 am or so.

I made my tropical oatmeal! This meal is SO filling, I love it.

IMG_0697

My bowl of goodness:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 1 TBL flax
  • coconut
  • pineapple
  • almonds
  • banana

WOW that’s a LOT of stuff!! Very worth the time it takes to make.

IMG_0696

I hope you enjoy the VLOGS!! I was excited to make them 😀

❤ MegaNerd